Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Suggested PC Specification for PD 18?
Henmarsh [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Nov 16, 2019 07:10 Messages: 6 Offline
[Post New]
Hi! I'm new to Power Director and my elderly i7 2.22/6GB/SSD Windows machine is creaking under the strain of PD 18. I'm building short instructional videos of between 5 and fifteen minutes in HD resolution but would like to be able to move to 4K in the future.

Does anyone have recommended specifications for hardware that will run it well? I'm assuming a recent high-spec I7/32GB/SSD but, although I've built many PCs, I'm out of touch with graphics cards and that sweet price spot between Good enough and Brilliant!

Any and all suggestions most welcome.

Charlie
Alexba [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Dec 01, 2018 08:05 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
GPU hardware acceleration does not seem to work with new Nvidia cards. I have just purchased a Dell G7 15 (758 with GTX 1060 (6G). Unfortunately PD18 does not utilize the GTX1060, instead it uses Intel's built-in GPU. It is very disappointing. I hope to get a fix for PD18. I have provided the logs to PD support. I will provide an update on the progress here.

I suggest you to contact Cyberlink support to learn which GPU they support, or regret like me...

Otherwise, I am quite happy with the performance of the Dell G7 (8th generation 6 core i7), 16GB RAM, 2 disks (1 SSD for Windows and some applications, 1 Sata for storage and videos). I am using external RAID drives for archival.

You can get some idea about similar or better budget gaming laptops from the review below
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Dell-G7-15-i7-8750H-GTX-1060-Max-Q-Laptop-Review.317686.0.html