Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD 365 not finding my 8mm video camera
mike601 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Sep 25, 2019 08:06 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
I just recently installed PD 365 because the old version (12) I have wouldn't burn DVDs. The old version would detect my SOny 8mm video camera as a TV signal, but the new version doesn't. Is there a way to force it to see the camera or should i just reinstall the old version. Trying to save memories and I'm a total noob on using this!
StevenG [Avatar]
Contributor Joined: Jan 14, 2014 14:04 Messages: 513 Offline
[Post New]
You can not capture video from analog sources. So, unless your 8mm camcorder is a Digital8 Sony, you can not (and as far as I know you have never been able to) interface with the program from that camcorder.

Not unless you're using a Firewire-connected digitizer to connect the two. And even then, you'll be able to record but not control or interface with the camera.

Can you confirm whether you're trying to capture from an 8mm camcorder or a Digital8 connected via FireWire?
[Post New]
Quote I just recently installed PD 365 because the old version (12) I have wouldn't burn DVDs. The old version would detect my SOny 8mm video camera as a TV signal, but the new version doesn't. Is there a way to force it to see the camera or should i just reinstall the old version. Trying to save memories and I'm a total noob on using this!

When I did this many years ago, I was grabbing video from an old Hi8 camera.
I used a USB to S-Video connector like this one.