CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD 365 does not digest 10bit 4k 4.2.2 files from GH5
Reply to this topic
DocFly [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jun 30, 2017 15:00 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
PD 365 does not digest 10bit 4k 4.2.2 files from Panasonic GH5. It was a known and I guess accepted issue with previous versions. Was so exited when the new version was announced with 10 bit support as one of the new features. As one of the more popular prosumer 4k 10bit capable cameras out there this is rather unacceptable. Has anyone else come across this barrier with the latest PD?
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7987 Offline
[Post New]
PD can edit 4:2:2 ProRes vids, but it looks like your system may not be configured with the proper codec. I downloaded a 7.7GB GH5 clip from this website, and as you can see in this composite screenshot, it plays normally in PD18:



Two questions for you: Is your 4:2:2 clip in the .MOV format, and are other media players on your computer able to play it? If not, try installing the QT Lite app.

If other players work but PD18 still won't, try installing either the K-Lite codec pack or FFDShow.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 06. 2020 22:15



YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 5488 Offline
[Post New]
Quote PD 365 does not digest 10bit 4k 4.2.2 files from Panasonic GH5. It was a known and I guess accepted issue with previous versions. Was so exited when the new version was announced with 10 bit support as one of the new features. As one of the more popular prosumer 4k 10bit capable cameras out there this is rather unacceptable. Has anyone else come across this barrier with the latest PD?

I don't think generic AVC 4:2:2 10 bit support was added in PD18. The ProRes 4:2:2 10 bit was supported in PD17. For such support, I don't think you will need any additional codec pack from K-Lite or FFDShow installed.

So as optodata suggested, must be MOV file and not MP4 (AVC) and the clip used as a test, All-UHD-Apple ProRes 422.mov, can be imported into PD17 too.

Jeff
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7987 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I don't think generic AVC 4:2:2 10 bit support was added in PD18. The ProRes 4:2:2 10 bit was supported in PD17. For such support, I don't think you will need any additional codec pack from K-Lite or FFDShow installed.

So as optodata suggested, must be MOV file and not MP4 (AVC) and the clip used as a test, All-UHD-Apple ProRes 422.mov, can be imported into PD17 too.

Interesting about PD17. This graphic from the PD18 specs page implies that ProRes 4:2:2 is both already supported and new:


YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 5488 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Interesting about PD17. This graphic from the PD18 specs page implies that ProRes 4:2:2 is both already supported and new:

optodata, it's really hard to tell from the terse release capability notes of what was added. It could be some variant of ProRes 422 was added, HQ, LT, Proxy, Uncompressed, alpha channel, or it might be that the outdated unsupported Quicktime install is no longer needed. It's really hard to tell from the release until enough user experience forth-comes to see some pattern, unfortunate, but often reality here.

But the sample clip highlighted, All-UHD-Apple ProRes 422.mov, to show some added functionality in PD18 can actually be imported in versions as old as PD10 and can be edited, pic attached so one can hardly put the "NEW" franchise tag on it. But yes, totally possible something was new.

Jeff
[Thumb - PD10_ProRes.png]
 Filename
PD10_ProRes.png
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
880 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
8 time(s)
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team