CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Rendering time estimates
Reply to this topic
declan123 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 30, 2013 03:13 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
how long would 40 GB take to render in Director16

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 25. 2019 15:24

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3857 Online
[Post New]
Quote how long would 40 GB take to render in Director16

Nobody here can tell you. We don't know what kind of system you have, whether you have a dedicated GPU, what kind of edits you've made, what profile you intend to produce to, or any of the other dozen or so factors that can affect producing time.

On a fast machine using SVRT, you might plow through that whole video in a couple minutes. If you're producing to H.265 without a dedicated GPU, it could take days.

The best way to get an estimate is to simply start producing! The "Time Remaining" window will give you an estimate based on the kind of work is needed at the current timeline location.

If your edits are fairly consistent throughout your project, the estimate should be pretty accurate. However, if there are places with lots of color changes or other intensive types of edits, the estimate may be too low, and you'll see the remaining time start to creep up when PD produces the more challenging sections.
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
declan123 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 30, 2013 03:13 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Quote

Nobody here can tell you. We don't know what kind of system you have, whether you have a dedicated GPU, what kind of edits you've made, what profile you intend to produce to, or any of the other dozen or so factors that can affect producing time.

On a fast machine using SVRT, you might plow through that whole video in a couple minutes. If you're producing to H.265 without a dedicated GPU, it could take days.

The best way to get an estimate is to simply start producing! The "Time Remaining" window will give you an estimate based on the kind of work is needed at the current timeline location.

If your edits are fairly consistent throughout your project, the estimate should be pretty accurate. However, if there are places with lots of color changes or other intensive types of edits, the estimate may be too low, and you'll see the remaining time start to creep up when PD produces the more challenging sections.



I have an old XPs L720 with 6 GB mem, 17 2630QM processor Nvidia gforce GT555m. My editing is pretty simple nothing fancy but even the editing is taking a lifetime! Is computer not up to it? Declan Chalmers
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3857 Online
[Post New]
Quote I have an old XPs L720 with 6 GB mem, 17 2630QM processor Nvidia gforce GT555m. My editing is pretty simple nothing fancy but even the editing is taking a lifetime! Is computer not up to it? Declan Chalmers
You have an old machine, which will certainly take longer to produce a clip than a newer one, and it will also be much slower at editing, but you haven't said what kind of clips you're working with.

If you're working with HD or 4K clips, you will certainly need to turn on shadow files and wait until the little yellow icon on each media library thumbnail turns green before PD will be able to smoothly edit those clips. It may take a day for PD to generate the shadow files, so you may also want to break the project into smaller pieces so you aren't try to work with 40GB worth of content at one time.

Once you've kept PD running long enough to create shadow files for all your clips, your editing experience should be much improved, but the rendering/producing time will still be determined by all of the factors I listed above. The only way to know how long that will take is to start producing and see what the time remaining numbers look like.
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team