CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Aspect ratio
Reply to this topic
Robert882 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 27, 2013 07:41 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
Are there any versions of Power Director that over various aspect ratio, especially 1:1 for Instagram. Or a plug in which allows you to convert wide to 1:1. If so would it work on PD12
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3692 Online
[Post New]
Unfortunately, the answer to all of your questions is No. No version of PD (so far) can do that, and there are no plug-ins either.

However, there are 2 simple ways to get exactly what you want using free 3rd party tools. See this post for more details.

If you're familiar with VirtualDub (or the much newer VDub2), that post shows the steps and you'll just need to make a change to the final pixel resolution, since that thread was specifically how to create a nonstandard 1920x800 video. If you want to use VDub2 and you know what output resolution you want to produce to, I can create a custom project file for you.

If you're more familiar with the free VLC player, there are steps in tomasc's post immediately after following that list the steps there. Please read the posts afterwards to make sure you have all of the other settings set correctly.

Please post back here if you have any questions and we'll do our best to help
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Robert882 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 27, 2013 07:41 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Unfortunately, the answer to all of your questions is No. No version of PD (so far) can do that, and there are no plug-ins either.

However, there are 2 simple ways to get exactly what you want using free 3rd party tools. See this post for more details.

If you're familiar with VirtualDub (or the much newer VDub2), that post shows the steps and you'll just need to make a change to the final pixel resolution, since that thread was specifically how to create a nonstandard 1920x800 video. If you want to use VDub2 and you know what output resolution you want to produce to, I can create a custom project file for you.

If you're more familiar with the free VLC player, there are steps in tomasc's post immediately after following that list the steps there. Please read the posts afterwards to make sure you have all of the other settings set correctly.

Please post back here if you have any questions and we'll do our best to help


Thats a bummer!. Unfortunately I am not familiar with any of those programs and wanted a simple solution. There are some programs that you can use especially designed for Instagram, but I was hoping that PowerDiirector newest version was on top of this. I want to upload to instagram rather than shooting with a crapy phone camera. Oh well, it seems they have me were they want, extract more $$$, I would rather get PowerDirectors latest.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 23. 2019 05:16

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3692 Online
[Post New]
You actually don't need to be familiar with either of those other apps.

What I should have made more clear is that both approaches are very simple, and I'll show you the steps for VDub2 here. Once you've downloaded the files, it's literally 2 steps to get a 1:1 video!

Download VirtualDub2 and install it. Download the (5) VDub2 project files from this OneDrive folder. That's all the setup you need!

Next, open up VDub2 and go to File > Load Project.

If you're converting a standard horizontal 16:9 clip to 1:1, load the 16_9 Horizontal IG 1_1.vdproject. If you have a vertical phone clip, load the 9_16 Vertical IG 1_1.vdproject. If the clip ends up horizontal by mistake, try again with the 9_16 + rotate Vertical IG 1_1.vdproject*.

Now use File > Open video file.. to open your original clip, which can be produced by PD or come straight from your camera, then use File > Save Video... and choose the output name and location. That's it!

There are also 2 clips in the OneDrive folder. One is a PD-produced vertical clip (Instagram test.MP4) and the other is the 1:1 clip (Instagram test final.MP4) made by VDub2 using the "+ rotate" project file. It's also up on YouTube.


*NOTE: I've added preset projects for all vertical orientations that need rotation, and the names describe which direction the source video will be rotated:

9_16 + rotate left 90 Vertical IG 1_1.vdproject
9_16 + rotate right 90 Vertical IG 1_1.vdproject
9_16 + flip 180 Vertical IG 1_1.vdproject

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at Jun 25. 2019 12:50


youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Robert882 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 27, 2013 07:41 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
Thank you very much, will try it out and get back to you. Thanks!!!

Just loaded Vdub, and had a go, I loaded 16_9 Horizontal IG 1_1.project, (nothing changes on the interface) then opened video file TDPC 12 Sec Promo.mpe, then file, Save video... (no Save Video as), and then it came up woith this message (see capture). Thanks
[Thumb - Capture.JPG]
 Filename
Capture.JPG
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
19 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
5 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 23. 2019 16:30

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3692 Online
[Post New]
Quote Thank you very much, will try it out and get back to you. Thanks!!!

Just loaded Vdub, and had a go, I loaded 16_9 Horizontal IG 1_1.project, (nothing changes on the interface) then opened video file TDPC 12 Sec Promo.mpe, then file, Save video... (no Save Video as), and then it came up woith this message (see capture). Thanks

Thanks for the "Save Video As.." correction. What is Save as type: and Video Compression: set to on the Save Video... screen?



Try changing the Save as type: box to the above selection.

Can you also try loading the the test clip and the vertical + rotate project and see if that works?
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Robert882 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 27, 2013 07:41 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
The setting are as you have shown them. I am still getting the same error. I took a capture of the setting.

When I try to open the other two project files I get the capture 2 message
[Thumb - Capture_2.JPG]
 Filename
Capture_2.JPG
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
17 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
2 time(s)
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3692 Online
[Post New]
Where did you place the download clips? You can also drag a clip from File Explorer into the VDub2 window.
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Robert882 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 27, 2013 07:41 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
Hi
All sitting in the same folder.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3692 Online
[Post New]
Quote Hi
All sitting in the same folder.

I don't know what to tell you. This is simply opening a clip in VirtualDub2.

Perhaps you haven't actually downloaded the clips and only have placeholders or icons of some kind there. If you right click on the Instagram Test.mp4 clip and chose Properties, it should show 23.7MB, and the Instagram Test Final clip should show 9.44MB. Try downloading each clip again and overwrite the existing clips to be sure.
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Robert882 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 27, 2013 07:41 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
I have downloaded two clips and they both run, a vertical and horizontal clip. Its all there 23.7

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 24. 2019 16:25

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3692 Online
[Post New]
Quote I have downloaded two clips and they both run, a vertical and horizontal clip. Its all there 23.7

OK. I found a problem with the 16_9 Horizontal IG 1_1.vdproject file.

I've corrected it, so please download it again and overwrite the original one, then load it into VDub2 and try converting your intended clip again. This time, you shouldn't get the "output frame size" error message.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 24. 2019 16:41


youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Robert882 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 27, 2013 07:41 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
Sorry , still same error. Got to go to work unfortunately.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3692 Online
[Post New]
Quote Sorry , still same error. Got to go to work unfortunately.

When you next have some time, make sure that the .vdproject file has a date of June 24. If it's from the 23rd, that's the old version.

Next, make sure that you close Vdub2 after trying and getting the error. Open it again, load the project file, then open or drag your clip onto the app. It really should be this simple:


youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Robert882 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 27, 2013 07:41 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
The vd project is dated 25th/06

Could it be that my mp4 which was produced by PowerDirector on these settings
MPEG4, 1920x1080 24fps 16mps, Aust PAL, is not compatible?

GOT IT!!!!! (PUNCHING FISTS IN THE AIR!!)

It was my mp4 movie, when I originally outputed the movie it was at a default setting. I redid the video at the setting above and it worked.

THANK YOU!!!!

SO MUCH!!!!!

Was getting close to spending money. LOL

Thank you once again.

Briliant!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 25. 2019 04:38

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3692 Online
[Post New]
Quote GOT IT!!!!! (PUNCHING FISTS IN THE AIR!!)

...

THANK YOU!!!!

SO MUCH!!!!!

I'm very glad you got everything working! The nice thing about this process is that it should take your original clip and give you a 1:1 output without you having to worry about all the details.

Until PD offers a built-in 1:1 editing option, this is probably the quickest & easiest way to go. Happy IGing
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team