CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Green screen on the background of transitions
Reply to this topic
[Post New]
Hi,

I'm wondering if I'm missing something really simple here but I can't figure it out.

I'm transitioning between two clips with the "rotation counterclockwise" transition effect.

The problem I have is that as one video leaves the screen and is replaced by the other, there should be a black back ground inbetween. Unfortunately, this is green on the actual video timeline.

Is this normal? I would have thought it would be black or at least the colour of the colour board I have on the previous track but no, it's still green.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2899 Online
[Post New]
I'm not sure exactly what's going on over on your end. The Rotation series of transitions are fun, but like some of the other, and older transistions, they have a solid backround, rather than a transparent (Alpha) one.

On my system, I have a black background when the transition is used on track 1, and still have a black background when placed on track 2 under a color board:



I've never seen any other color besides black on these transistions, so I don't know why you're seeing green. Once in awhile, I've found that PD sometimes hangs on to an older cached image after making a change, and closing it and waiting a few seconds before restarting it usually clears the issue.

Also, if you've used the Render Preview feature on these clips, you should go to Preferences (the gear icon) General and Manually Delete the temp files to see if the issue goes away.
youtube/optodata


Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16 thread i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | nVidia 419.67 | ASUS PRIME Z390-A | 6.2TB SSDs | 4TB HDD | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
[Post New]


Yep.. I'm not sure what's happening at all. It's not quite clear but you can see the green on the screen shot above.

I'm still working on the video, if I go in and delete those files manually, will that effect my edit at all?
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2899 Online
[Post New]
Quote Yep.. I'm not sure what's happening at all. It's not quite clear but you can see the green on the screen shot above.

I'm still working on the video, if I go in and delete those files manually, will that effect my edit at all?

Deleting the temp files has no impact on the final project, but it will affect your editing performance if you're using shadow files. You can always have PD recreate the shadow files after this test.
youtube/optodata


Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16 thread i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | nVidia 419.67 | ASUS PRIME Z390-A | 6.2TB SSDs | 4TB HDD | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 3524 Offline
[Post New]
Quote

Yep.. I'm not sure what's happening at all. It's not quite clear but you can see the green on the screen shot above.

I'm still working on the video, if I go in and delete those files manually, will that effect my edit at all?

You might try turning off both options in pref > Hardware Acceleration and see if that's a short term fix for your green screen.

Jeff
Reply
[Post New]
Ok, that's good to know. Thank you.

I think I might just finish up this bit first as I'm almost done and then delete them afterwards. I can make do with different transitions for now I just spotted one bit where it would have looked quite nice.

Never mind, I shall carry on and see what happens when I've finished this bit of the edit.
Reply
[Post New]
Quote

You might try turning off both options in pref > Hardware Acceleration and see if that's a short term fix for your green screen.

Jeff


Thanks for the suggestion Jeff but it didn't work I'm afraid. The green is still there! Pesky.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team