Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Want the highest quality DVD from mp4 file
bugslayer [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: May 06, 2017 19:16 Messages: 5 Offline
[Post New]
Please bear with me. I'm a newbie.

I have PD17. I imported an mp4 from a 4K camcorder.

The length of the video is about 33 minutes.

I want to get this movie onto a DVD, for home viewing.

I've tried a number of things to get the highest quality out of the DVD, but it seems that I always end up with a file that is the 720x480/60i (mpg).

The original mp4 is over 13 Gb. Isn't there a way to get the resolution of the final DVD higher?

If you could point me to a tutorial, or better yet, walk me through some steps that I'm obviously missing, I would appreciate it.

Thank you.
Jets2011
Senior Contributor Location: Canada Joined: Sep 29, 2006 05:26 Messages: 760 Offline
[Post New]
Hello,

Yes that quality limitation is correct. What you seem to be missing is the limitation of DVD video. When you burn any video to a DVD for playback on a DVD player, there is a quality limitation because it is an older format. DVD video is MPEG-2 video and is not HD video. If you are burning 4K video, you are losing a lot of quality by doing it this way. Here is a reference that is similar to your question:

https://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/22168/is-it-possible-to-master-a-dvd-with-720hd-high-definition-video

How are you viewing the file? On a DVD player or a computer with a DVD player connected to a TV? What I suggest you to do is burn the MP4 file to a data disc. Maybe your DVD player will recognize the MP4 file, depending on how old it is.