CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Limiting the size of file during Edit so it can fit DVD MPEG-2 - How ?
Reply to this topic
Kural69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: California Joined: Jul 17, 2017 13:11 Messages: 8 Online
[Post New]
Hi,
I only want to Produce in MPEG-2 such that all my Videos can be played in cheap DVD player. That means, I do not want double sided DVDs or Blu Ray, just simple DVD MPEG-2.

Since I can't upgrade my PC yet, my Produce part on PD17 is very very time consuming. I have to live with that.

After I complete my Edit phase with Videos, Slideshows, Music, I reach the Produce part only to find out that I have exceeded the 4.7G limitation. I then have to go back to Edit, chop off bit/pieces, Produce again, and still over the 4.7G limit. This cycle repeats for me over and over until I have trimmed it just enought to fit the 4.7G DVD MPEG-2 limitation.

My Ask:
Can I pro-actively do something during the Edit phase so I have some general idea what Gig size the Produce part may deliver ?

In Edit phase, I have in a Timeline (and not in Gig) so I can't tell.

I know I can split the Project into multiple pieces but I want to make maximum use of the 4.7G limitation and then only split from there.

Any pointers in PD17 that can help me "plan" properly would be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Reply
PepsiMan
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Clarksville, TN Joined: Dec 29, 2010 01:20 Messages: 835 Offline
[Post New]
try this,
total time of the movie or videos in the timeline in workspace; ie max 2hours 15min and or
at the create 2D disc select the video encoding format and quality to SMART FIT.

happy happy joy joy

PepsiMan
'garbage in garbage out' 'no bridge too far'

Yashica Electro 8 LD-6 Super 8mm
Asrock 970 Extreme4, W7Pro 64, AMD FX 8370E, MSI GTX1060 6GB, Corsair 16GB/RAM
Dell XPS L702X i7-2860QM, W7P / W10P 64, Intel HD3000/nVidia GT 550M 1GB, Micron 16GB/RAM
Samsung Galaxy Note3/NX1
Reply
Kural69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: California Joined: Jul 17, 2017 13:11 Messages: 8 Online
[Post New]
Quote try this,
total time of the movie or videos in the timeline in workspace; ie max 2hours 15min and or
at the create 2D disc select the video encoding format and quality to SMART FIT.

happy happy joy joy

PepsiMan
'garbage in garbage out'



Hi,
Exactly where/How do you set the max to be 2 hours 15 mins ?

Tks
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2339 Online
[Post New]
Place the scrubber at the end of your very last clip, and make sure the timeline is in Movie mode. This example project is 8 min, 22 sec and 25 frames in length:


youtube/optodata


Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16 Thread i9-9900K (4.7GHz) | RTX 2070 | nVidia 417.35 | ASUS PRIME Z390-A | 6.2TB SSDs | 4TB HDD | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team