Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
What is the purpose of production?
Charles [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Mar 30, 2009 16:34 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
Why do you need to produce if you can just burn a disc? Is it to break down a project into smaller sections? If so, how do you take the several produced section and make one dvd? Do you add the produced sections into one time line and then burn? Sorry I am new to this.
James W
Senior Contributor Location: Lakeland, FL USA Joined: Aug 18, 2008 10:36 Messages: 911 Offline
[Post New]
Basically yes to all your questions.

You can make a DVD in two ways. 1. Do all the editing and when finished burn the disk and PD will produce everything followed by burning. 2. Produce separate video files first to make the project more manageable and then insert the produced file back into the timeline and burn the disk.

From my experience the second option is the best for a couple of reasons. First, I find that PD somehow gets more unstable as the project gets larger. Second, editing and producing smaller pieces keeps things more organized and you can quickly produce the smaller files and preview them before finishing the project. Finally, if the program were to crash you will lose less work and time.

If you produce each section individually in the proper video format and bit rate, you can use SVRT when compiling the final version and PD will not rerender all the video. Q9300 2.5 GHz
4 GB Ram
Nvidia 9800 GT
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9977 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Charles -