Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Can't watch "The Punisher" or "Bangkok Dangerous" on bluray
Erin [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Oct 18, 2008 07:55 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]

I just got these two titles from Netflix. Looks like they've never been viewed before--brand new.

When I load the discs PowerDVD tells me this is my first time trying to view a BD-ROM, and insists I choose a region. My region was set when I first purchased this system (Dell XPS M1730--4GB Ram--Dual Nvidia GTX 8800M--Vista Ultra), and I haven't changed it since.

I humor the dialog however and rechoose "1" as my region, and from there I'm greeted with an error:

[Error code: 80040154
Internal error.]

When I click on "Detailed" I see the following:

[The error code is undefined.

Contact http://support.gocyberlink.com. Please tell us how this internal error occurred in a detailed manner.]

Okay, but there's no way to do this at that website that I can find, so I'm here. I just watched a bluray last week on this system--no problems. That title was "BC 10,000".

I'm using: PowerDVD 8 Version 8.0.2815a.0

I checked and that's the latest patch. The very latest.

Michael [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 01, 2009 09:46 Messages: 15 Offline
[Post New]
BIG SUGGESTION try using Arcsoft TotalMedia 3 POWERDVD SUCKS
JJPower [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 21, 2009 22:34 Messages: 47 Offline
[Post New]
I'm not trying to defend Cyberlink or your Ultra8 program, but will say I had WAY to many PROBLEMS with WRONG REGION codes from Netflix blu-ray movie rentals.
This was also using them in another Stand Alone player as well.