Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Project files and setup
Broadfoot [Avatar]
Newbie Location: Selah, WA Joined: Aug 24, 2016 20:31 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
I am a newbie and want to make sure I get started right.

I have a Pictures folder mapped as drive E on my computers. In that folder are subfolders and subfolder trees containing the vast majority of my photos.
Also in the Picture folder is a folder called "PhotoDirector 9 Jobs" which is where all Project PhD files, _Cache folders and _faces folders are located.
Is this a correct way to set things up?
Should all Project files & folders be together or does it matter?
Does PhotoDirector contain a file with a list of current Projects or does it just remember location of the last .PdH file it opened?

I have not found instructions for proper removal of a PhotoDirector "Project". Is the correct way to use Windows to remove the .phd file and the _cache & _faces folders and contents? If not, what is?

Thanks, John Broadfoot
Hatti
Contributor Location: Bonn, Germany Joined: Feb 21, 2017 15:54 Messages: 576 Offline
[Post New]
I think, it doesn't matter, where your project files are. PhotoDirector just stores information about your files in a sqlite database. The PhotoDirector project file is just that sqlite database file. PhotoDirector will not do anything to your pictures. The changes you make are only stored in the database. You have to export a photo with the changes. Then, a completely new picture is created from the original with the desired changes.
What you can do is make a copy to a specified location. But also then, PhotoDirector just cpoies the pictures from the original.