CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Mask Creation leaves residual pixels
Reply to this topic
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6032 Offline
[Post New]
I have a good use for the mask creator in my current project but when I use it I get a HUGE amount of residual pixelation. The leftovers do not really affect anything until I try to place a border on the mask and then there is evidence of pixels everywhere making the mask rather useless. Anybody come across this, and did you find a cure?

Note: This happens also in PD13.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Apr 01. 2016 09:58

HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Analog tape capture equipment.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-609762572849441
Reply
Neil.F.1955 [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Australia (Port Stephens area, NSW) Joined: Mar 07, 2012 09:15 Messages: 1303 Offline
[Post New]
Delete this, Moderator, Please? Have had second thought about replying here.
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9781 Offline
[Post New]

Hi Barry -


This is a mask you made - yes? The problem started and can be fixed in your graphics software. Maybe you didn't clean it up properly. CP used to be on my. case about this!


If you bump up the tolerance to about 60% you should be able to refill and make it clean.


Cheers - Tony


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
CS2014
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA-Eastern Time Zone Joined: Sep 16, 2014 16:44 Messages: 629 Offline
[Post New]
CP?

CS PD13 Ultimate - Build 3516, WIN 8.1, 64 Bit, 16G RAM, Intel Core i5 4460, CPU @ 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT720, Graphics Memory(total avail.)-4093MB
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray Drive
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6032 Offline
[Post New]
"CS", Carston Peterson. THE amazing guru of PowerDirector tricks and tips, Master magician of image and video creation.
Yes, Tony, my images needed cleaning, you just can't skip things sometimes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Apr 01. 2016 20:14

HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Analog tape capture equipment.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-609762572849441
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9781 Offline
[Post New]
Sorry CS - I shouldn't "drop" names/initials like that without explaining. I was typing on my phone while taking a break during a mountain trek & trying to save words.



CP was/is my mentor in all things graphic & the founder of PDtoots. As Barry said, he's something of a whizz (even though he's been quiet on the forum of late). Here he is - http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/user/profile/30531.page

Barry - I'm glad you've cleaned up your stray pixels

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Richmond Dan
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Richmond, VA Joined: Aug 07, 2014 17:17 Messages: 637 Offline
[Post New]
Reminds me of a girl I dated in high school... Regards,
Dan

Power Director 14-Ultimate v.2820, Win-10 64-bit, Intel Core i7-4790 processor (8M Cache, 3.6 GHz),
8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200 RPM SATA HDD 6.0 Gb/s, NVIDIA GeForce GT 720 ( v 375.95 ) 1GB DDR3

Panasonic HC-V750

[url=http://www.pass
Reply
CS2014
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA-Eastern Time Zone Joined: Sep 16, 2014 16:44 Messages: 629 Offline
[Post New]
.....ah... Dan?! lol Not CP I hope... hehe...

Thanks for more info Tony and Barry.

If you are hiking up that shear face... er... good LUCK! I guess my idea of a hike includes a path to follow! lol

CS PD13 Ultimate - Build 3516, WIN 8.1, 64 Bit, 16G RAM, Intel Core i5 4460, CPU @ 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT720, Graphics Memory(total avail.)-4093MB
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray Drive
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6032 Offline
[Post New]
I see, too, that if I move the images I used to create the mask, the mask vanishes from my timeline. So it does not make a mask template in the program MASK folder, it actually uses it as an image "actively". I wonder if the mask/image will pack into a PACKED PROJECT when I am finished? Hmmmm. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Analog tape capture equipment.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-609762572849441
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9781 Offline
[Post New]
You've probably worked it out already, Barry.

Yes - the custom mask is saved in the Packed Project folder. It acts like any other media (which is why moving ot renaming it isn't a good idea).

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team