CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
New system advice please
Reply to this topic
Pedro369 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 22, 2015 05:17 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,

I would like some advice please as I'm about to build a new system for editing video in Cyberlink Power Director 14. This will mainly be for HD but possibly some 4K video as well, both shot on a SONY FDR-AX-33.

The main system components I'm considering are the following - if there are better cost comparative alternatives I'd really appreciate your advice.

OS: Windows 8.1 64 Bit & PowerDirector Deluxe 14

MB: Asus (X99-A) Intel X99 ATX Motherboard

CPU: Intel (BX80648I75820K) i7-5820K Haswell-E, 3.30GHz(Turbo 3.6GHz), Socket 2011-V3, 6x cores, 12x Threads, 15MB Cache

RAM: 8 x (total of 64GB) DDR4 - Kingston (HX426C15FB/8 ) 8GB 2666MHz DDR4 Non-ECC CL15 DIMM HyperX FURY Black Series

HD: (existing) OS & Programs - 1 x Adata SSD (ASP900S3-256GM-C) 256GB SP900 Series // Data Storage - 3 x Western Digital HDD 4TB Red NAS in RAID 5

GRAPHICS CARD: (existing) GTX 760 Gigabyte GV-N760OC-2GD

Thanks in advance for any feedback,

Pete PowerDirector Deluxe 13 OS: Windows 8.1 64 Bit
MB: Asrock FM2A78M-HD+ CPU: 3.40 GHz AMD A10-7700K APU RAM: Corsair 16GB (2X8GB)
DDR3 1600MHz GPU: Gigabyte GV-N760OC-2GD SSD: Adata 256GB SP900 Series
HDD: WD 4TB Red NAS 64MB Cache
Reply
kmjk333 [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Feb 16, 2016 02:23 Messages: 93 Offline
[Post New]
You got a kick ass motherboard and CPU, 64GB of RAM and your video card came up very weak.

If you want to depend on your video hardware to work for 4K video's, don't go light with a 760

You could probably get by with 16GB of RAM, but the price keeps dropping so it is your buy. Depending on your PD14 settings (my example) the highest usage of RAM was 10.5GB, but that was without stressing the video card during encoding. This was 4K gaming video's of mine.



This is a very good resource and helpfull forum on picking parts, and building a new system



https://pcpartpicker.com/

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Feb 27. 2016 04:09

Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Windows 8.1, when you could get W10 for free (till summer)?!

I have 2 SSD drives in PC: one for programs (250Gb) and the 2nd one (500Gb) for files and I'm very, very pleased with it. your old HDD forget.
PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Pedro369 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 22, 2015 05:17 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
Good advice kmjk333, I'll look at video card options although it's starting to stretch the budget! The inclusion of the GTX 760 is due to my already having this card in my existing rig.

Andres.R - not sure what your suggestion is... PowerDirector Deluxe 13 OS: Windows 8.1 64 Bit
MB: Asrock FM2A78M-HD+ CPU: 3.40 GHz AMD A10-7700K APU RAM: Corsair 16GB (2X8GB)
DDR3 1600MHz GPU: Gigabyte GV-N760OC-2GD SSD: Adata 256GB SP900 Series
HDD: WD 4TB Red NAS 64MB Cache
Reply
Paul1945
Contributor Private Message Location: South Africa Joined: Apr 12, 2014 14:11 Messages: 327 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Pedro

Absolut W10 Only !!! all the new Programms are in the direction W10 the Rest If you wish i can send you my Wildebeest Details Pauls PC
X399 AORUS Extreme/AMD Ryzen2970WX/1xQuatro 4000 Driver:Geforce 419.67Skill V DDR4 64GB/3200MHz/Win10 prox64
Intel SSD 750/400 / Intel SSD 750/1.2Tb 1x4TB SSHD /1xSeagate 10TB pro
1xSamsung UA28D590 4k LUMIX GH5 1xLG HDR
Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
My suggestions are:


  1. upgrade your W to W10 for free: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/windows-10-upgrade you can do it till summertime, after need to pay.

  2. 2 weeks ago I had the same HD like you now wants to: SSD for programs and HHD for files (1Tb). It was one continuous headache: timeline stucks, needed to wait for something etc etc. After replicing HDD to SSD my PC is like NASA's: fast and editing is just fan. So, my suggestion is to use only SSD hard drives!

PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
[Post New]
Pete,

One of my SSD's just died this week from over-usage. True, it was the only Toshiba SSD that I own in my fleet (still have 4 left, different brand), but I would strongly advise against any video editing on a SSD.
In my experience it didn't do any difference time wise, the write speed during editing is not that big (10% of what one HDD can do). The time for importing the files for me is small too - but I have three HDD connected in a RAID 5 matrix (LSI/3ware 9650SE) for video storage.

I strongly advise for a hardware based RAID, I have also the Intel one (software, driver-based) on my motherboard and while on tests does great, when the CPU is "occupied" by other tasks to 90%, the RAID performance drops significantly, especialy in RAID 5 (more computing). I got my RAID controller from eBay.

For 4K editing you will need a GTX950 or GTX960. Nothing else, because only those two have the latest NVENC hardware encoder.

In my experience, the memory over 16GB is unused by this program. I have 15GB and never saw it filled to the max... other might chime in on this for 4K editing, I don't do that a lot. You can save money there, maybe get only 32GB now (4 slots)?

Upgrade to Windows 10 for free, in the future should allow better utilization of the video cards.
Unless you want to use the Windows Media Center on that computer (feature was dropped from Windows 10), there is no need to keep Windows 8.1.

I see thay your MoBo supports M.2 Socket 3 (M keyed for SSD devices, type 2242/2260/2280/22110) - I would consider that in place of SATA SSD's, like ADATA Premier Pro SP900 M.2 2280 Solid State Drive.

This message was edited 11 times. Last update was at Feb 28. 2016 07:44

Reply
Paul1945
Contributor Private Message Location: South Africa Joined: Apr 12, 2014 14:11 Messages: 327 Offline
[Post New]
Ore the New $$$$ Dream
SAMSUNG MZ-7KE2T0BW SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2TB SOLID STATE Pauls PC
X399 AORUS Extreme/AMD Ryzen2970WX/1xQuatro 4000 Driver:Geforce 419.67Skill V DDR4 64GB/3200MHz/Win10 prox64
Intel SSD 750/400 / Intel SSD 750/1.2Tb 1x4TB SSHD /1xSeagate 10TB pro
1xSamsung UA28D590 4k LUMIX GH5 1xLG HDR
Reply
Pedro369 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 22, 2015 05:17 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Pete,

One of my SSD's just died this week from over-usage. True, it was the only Toshiba SSD that I own in my fleet (still have 4 left, different brand), but I would strongly advise against any video editing on a SSD.
In my experience it didn't do any difference time wise, the write speed during editing is not that big (10% of what one HDD can do). The time for importing the files for me is small too - but I have three HDD connected in a RAID 5 matrix (LSI/3ware 9650SE) for video storage.

I strongly advise for a hardware based RAID, I have also the Intel one (software, driver-based) on my motherboard and while on tests does great, when the CPU is "occupied" by other tasks to 90%, the RAID performance drops significantly, especialy in RAID 5 (more computing). I got my RAID controller from eBay.

For 4K editing you will need a GTX950 or GTX960. Nothing else, because only those two have the latest NVENC hardware encoder.

In my experience, the memory over 16GB is unused by this program. I have 15GB and never saw it filled to the max... other might chime in on this for 4K editing, I don't do that a lot. You can save money there, maybe get only 32GB now (4 slots)?

Upgrade to Windows 10 for free, in the future should allow better utilization of the video cards.
Unless you want to use the Windows Media Center on that computer (feature was dropped from Windows 10), there is no need to keep Windows 8.1.

I see thay your MoBo supports M.2 Socket 3 (M keyed for SSD devices, type 2242/2260/2280/22110) - I would consider that in place of SATA SSD's, like ADATA Premier Pro SP900 M.2 2280 Solid State Drive.


Thanks for the advice Sonic67, and others. Looks like I'll upgrade to W10 and with the money saved by only installing 16GB at this time look at my video card option. Can I ask how much you paid for your hardware RAID controller?

Cheers,

Pete PowerDirector Deluxe 13 OS: Windows 8.1 64 Bit
MB: Asrock FM2A78M-HD+ CPU: 3.40 GHz AMD A10-7700K APU RAM: Corsair 16GB (2X8GB)
DDR3 1600MHz GPU: Gigabyte GV-N760OC-2GD SSD: Adata 256GB SP900 Series
HDD: WD 4TB Red NAS 64MB Cache
Reply
[Post New]
See here an example on eBay. I got one with cables too, they are important. It's a PCIe 4x, I had one of those slots on my MoBo. Maybe you can search around to see if somebody on internet put one on the 16x ports that you have.
Works in Windows 10 - 64 bit.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/AMCC-3ware-9650SE-4LPML-RAID-Controller-Card-PCIe-4-Port-w-79576-3002-SATA-Cable-/171975714642?hash=item280a8d2752:g:p-gAAOSw5dNWolc-
[Thumb - 9650SE.png]
 Filename
9650SE.png
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
24 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
49 time(s)
[Thumb - 9650SE_1.png]
 Filename
9650SE_1.png
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
36 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
43 time(s)

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at Feb 28. 2016 19:04

Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team