CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Unreadable file, maybe somebody can help me here?
Reply to this topic
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,

I recorded ca 50 files to my camcoder memory card and dont know why, but last 1/3 are unreadable.

The smallest sample is attached. maybe here is some smarter guy, who can help me with it and maybe it is readable with some special etc program?!

Already thanks ahead!
 Filename
00063.MTS
[Disk]
 Description
unreadable file
 Filesize
10080 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
268 time(s)
PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9920 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Andres -

Hmmm - not sure how that happened! surprised

Very strange - your clip tries to play back in MPC-HC, but the video image is scrambled. In GOM player, the vision plays back differently (close-up of clothing) - same with WMP & PotPlayer, but with visual artifacts. VLC player just shows a black screen.

Both MediaInfo & Moo0 VideoInfo show the clip has a subtitle/text track, unlike any of the MTS files from my Canons. Combined reports attached.

In PDR14, at least you can see that the clip was shot in a market or similar (screenshot attached of opening frame) but it does not play back correctly. SVRT works but it fails to produce a readable file.

I'm sorry - I don't have any magic answers.

Cheers - Tony
 Filename
00063.MTS.txt
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
7 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
292 time(s)
[Thumb - Anders.jpg]
 Filename
Anders.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
222 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
126 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 07. 2016 22:54


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Jirka.Bolech
Senior Member Private Message Location: Liberec, Czech Republic Joined: Aug 16, 2014 06:03 Messages: 157 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Andres,

I can open your clip in PowerDirector. Strange it is though. I see two different videos depending on whether I play the clip from within the library (clip one attached) or when placed on the timeline (clip two attached).

My initial impression was the clip was too short. MediaInfo shows mere 450ms. I thought this might be the cause.

One way or another, the problem must originate in the camera. Was the memory getting full? If it's a memory card, I would try different disk format next time, perhaps consulting the camera's manual in this respect first.

Regards…

Jirka
Reply
Jirka.Bolech
Senior Member Private Message Location: Liberec, Czech Republic Joined: Aug 16, 2014 06:03 Messages: 157 Offline
[Post New]
I don't see my attachments. Maybe they were too large. Trying again one by one. If this doesn't work out, I'll produce smaller files…

Jirka
 Filename
andres_1.m2ts
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
4389 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
303 time(s)
Reply
Jirka.Bolech
Senior Member Private Message Location: Liberec, Czech Republic Joined: Aug 16, 2014 06:03 Messages: 157 Offline
[Post New]
Voila! There they go…
 Filename
andres_2.m2ts
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
6001 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
277 time(s)
Reply
Peter7769 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: oxfordshire, ENGLAND Joined: Oct 19, 2014 14:05 Messages: 36 Offline
[Post New]
Hi

ive managed to get this, but not sure how long the clip is supposed to be?



Pete
 Filename
00063.ts
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
9007 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
246 time(s)
Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Tony, Jirka.Bolech and Peter7769. Thank you so much for you help!

Clip was shooted last week in Mexico, where I was on our 3 weeks vacation with my friends. yes, it was marketplace, there is market on every street! We started from Mexico City and ended in Cancun.

As I mentioned, I choosed the shortest clip, because didnt know, how big file forum let me upload. My mistake, sorry. Just in case I add here a bigger file.

I downloaded GOM player and as any random file I playd, I saw the same fragment, as Jirka's file andres.2. From your 3 files Peters result was the best! Peter, how did you do it??

Camera is Sony Handycam HDR-CX360V. Built in 32Gb memory was already full and I started to use 64Gb memory card (class 10). As you can see from my file.2, an half of shooted files are ok, only the last ones. What happened, dont know, only noticed it now, when started to editing... I try to record another clip tomorrow, also on m.card. Lets see, what happens...

Its not my first time to use card after built in memory is full, but so far I used 32Gb, now its 64, which I havent used before. maybe here is the solution, dont know.. During recoding I didnt see any unusual in camera's work

Wish you a nice day!

Andres
[Thumb - all files from memory card.JPG]
 Filename
all files from memory card.JPG
[Disk]
 Description
file.2
 Filesize
266 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
125 time(s)
 Filename
00070.MTS
[Disk]
 Description
video file.1: 91 200kb; 0.30 sec.
 Filesize
91200 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
236 time(s)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Feb 07. 2016 19:06

PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
PepsiMan
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Clarksville, TN Joined: Dec 29, 2010 01:20 Messages: 1054 Offline
[Post New]
even though your card is class 10, my initial assumption is the card can not write faster than your cam.

file that i downloaded 00063.MTS is 13+ Mb/sec at 5sec.

you might have a bad card.

try a different card with faster write speed like 95MB/sec(sandisk extreme pro for ex.)



happy happy joy joy

PepsiMan

'garbage in garbage out'

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Feb 07. 2016 19:37

'no bridge too far'

Yashica Electro 8 LD-6 Super 8mm
Asrock TaiChi X470, AMD R7 2700X, W7P 64, MSI GTX1060 6GB, Corsair 16GB/RAM
Dell XPS L702X i7-2860QM, W7P / W10P 64, Intel HD3000/nVidia GT 550M 1GB, Micron 16GB/RAM
Samsung Galaxy Note3/NX1
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9920 Offline
[Post New]
Andres - sorry for tangling up the spelling of your name before embarassed

Odd that some clips recorded to the SD card correctly & others were "unreadable". Agreed, PepsiMan, this issue may well be card related. Andres' Sony HDR-CX360V records 1080/50p @ 28Mbps - quite modest by current standards - I can't see a need for a card with write speeds of ~95MB/s. I use those Sandisk Extreme cards in my 4K cameras which record at 50/100Mbps.

That said, it does point to a possible SD card issue, Andres, since it's a newly used card.

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Neil.F.1955 [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 07, 2012 09:15 Messages: 1303 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: even though your card is class 10, my initial assumption is the card can not write faster than your cam.

file that i downloaded 00063.MTS is 13+ Mb/sec at 5sec.

you might have a bad card.

try a different card with faster write speed like 95MB/sec(sandisk extreme pro for ex.)



happy happy joy joy

PepsiMan

'garbage in garbage out'


Hello, Andres!

I think PepsiMan has the answer here. The SD card may be suspect. Try a different card, possibly an SDHC card, fully compatible with any camera, these SDHC card are designed specifically for videocameras, qhereas a regular SD card is more for stills than video. Also, with your camera, "Built in 32Gb memory was already full", you really do need to copy off all your content from the camera's hard drive, to another storage device(an external hard-drive of 1 or 2 terrabyte capacity) so that you don't lose the valuable content, and you free up your camera's hard drive for future use. This may have some bearing on the behaviour of clips being stored on the SD card, I'd describe this as a sort-of digital equivalent of the old optical camera "double exposure" situation. Either way, a new SD card and clearing the internal hard-drive of your camera should go a considerable way toward solving your problem.

Cheers!

Neil.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 08. 2016 00:39

Reply
Jirka.Bolech
Senior Member Private Message Location: Liberec, Czech Republic Joined: Aug 16, 2014 06:03 Messages: 157 Offline
[Post New]
Hi again,

It's almost certain your memory card is to blame. I have had several cards purchased cheaply from China on eBay that performed correctly in part of their capacity only, renderring most of their space useless. Such a situation would correspond to your screenshot of the files that appear to be only corrupt past a point in the chronological order of being created. To check a memory card's performance, I use the free version of HDTune.

My PowerDirector crashes on an attempt to open the second video file you have attached. I can convert it using FormatFactory (3.8.0) but there are hesitations during the conversion and the output is not very different from what I attached to my previous post, only longer.

I find it highly unlikely you will be able to recover those clips' contents…

Jirka
 Filename
00070.mp4
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
23149 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
220 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 08. 2016 03:52

Reply
Peter7769 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: oxfordshire, ENGLAND Joined: Oct 19, 2014 14:05 Messages: 36 Offline
[Post New]
I'm currently at work, but when I get home tonight I'll take a look at the second clip and give you some more info on what programs to try, also a program I use to check all my memory cards, it takes a while to do but well worth it for peace of mind.

Pete
Reply
Neil.F.1955 [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 07, 2012 09:15 Messages: 1303 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi again,

It's almost certain your memory card is to blame. I have had several cards purchased cheaply from China on eBay that performed correctly in part of their capacity only, renderring most of their space useless. Such a situation would correspond to your screenshot of the files that appear to be only corrupt past a point in the chronological order of being created. To check a memory card's performance, I use the free version of HDTune.

My PowerDirector crashes on an attempt to open the second video file you have attached. I can convert it using FormatFactory (3.8.0) but there are hesitations during the conversion and the output is not very different from what I attached to my previous post, only longer.

I find it highly unlikely you will be able to recover those clips' contents…

Jirka


Hi, Jirka!

It seems you've been "burned" by the purchase of those el-cheapo SD cards. There's a salutory lesson in there, I'm sure! Just 'cause it's cheap, don't mean it's good! I tend to buy reputable brand cards by Verbatim or other major makers of such media. I don't buy too many, I tend to copy the content off the card to my computer, then clear the card(delete what's been copied away) for use later with other projects(like an up-coming Easter camping trip, or the annual Steamfest in April).

Cheers!

Neil.
Reply
Peter7769 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: oxfordshire, ENGLAND Joined: Oct 19, 2014 14:05 Messages: 36 Offline
[Post New]
Hi

firstly here is the program i use to test out all the cards i buy, its free and is available on both english & german



Pete



https://sosfakeflash.wordpress.com/2008/09/02/h2testw-14-gold-standard-in-detecting-usb-counterfeit-drives/
Reply
Peter7769 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: oxfordshire, ENGLAND Joined: Oct 19, 2014 14:05 Messages: 36 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Andres

I've managed to get this, but it seems to repeat itself towards then end?, does it look any good?



Pete
 Filename
00070.ts
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
66672 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
242 time(s)
Reply
Jirka.Bolech
Senior Member Private Message Location: Liberec, Czech Republic Joined: Aug 16, 2014 06:03 Messages: 157 Offline
[Post New]
I'm really curious to know what you used to do that, Pete…

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 08. 2016 17:39

Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi Andres

I've managed to get this, but it seems to repeat itself towards then end?, does it look any good?



Pete
Does not look to me a repeat. You were filming the mobile, dipped the camera down. There are some drop outs, then you are back on the mobile.

You may have stopped the camera, then started the camera again. I do not know why it would be one clip unless you edited it that way. Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi Andres

I've managed to get this, but it seems to repeat itself towards then end?, does it look any good?



Pete


Hi peter, as I told, your result is the best. How did you do it? what program you used? PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
I tried to record today again and seems its my card's fault! Need to buy a new and with better quality.

P.S. Carl, you are right, I usually do so: You may have stopped the camera, then started the camera again

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 15. 2016 07:01

PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Peter7769 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: oxfordshire, ENGLAND Joined: Oct 19, 2014 14:05 Messages: 36 Offline
[Post New]
http://www.videohelp.com/software/tsMuxeR

Here is the program I used, been using it for a while now, seems to be able to rescue most things.


Pete.





Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team