Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Lens Correction: Don't Do This!!
[Post New]
How to Crash PD14 - Lessons Learned

As a photographer, I use lens corrections in Adobe Camera Raw (ACR), as well as in a P'shop plugin to correct for wide angle lens distortions. Got a drone for Christmas and figured I better get some s'ware to use with the videos. I became a recent purchaser of PD14 and, having figured out 'basic edits', I set out to learn about the Fix/Enhance features. I stumbled on the ability to use lens corrections profiles, so started looking for a DGI Phantom 3 profile (even though there isn't much distortion to begin with).

Found an 'old' profile for ACR with a .lcp extension. Of course, PD14 wouldn't accept that, so I changed the extension to .pdlcp and the file was "accepted" - I thought. PD14 started to crash anytime I tried to open up any "fix" function - Fix/Enhance crashed the program; so did Magic Fix and so did Lens Correction in the Action Camera module .. nuts!!

So, I deleted the original file .. that didn't help. I uninstalled and re-installed the program .. that didn't help. I did a System Restore and that didn't help either .. aagggghhhh!!

I slept on the problem, thinking I would have to call TechSupport but decided to first search the Registry and my computer to see if I could find any evidence of my mis-adventure. Success!! Nothing in the Registry that I could find, but in the Cyberlink\Photodirector\ folder section of the Users\..\AppData\Local\ directory, there sat a copy of the offending file .. DELETE .. !!!

.. all's well again .. Whew!!!

Hope the story of my stupidity will maybe help somebody else .. Ron Wrucke