CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD14 and 13 crash when setting mask size then dragging
Reply to this topic
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 5758 Online
[Post New]
Hi gang

I ran across this unreported crash while using a mask. The issue occurs on 2 Win10 PCs here, one running PD14 and the other PD13 and 14. If it's a bug in PD's code it's been around for two years, but I don't know if it might be caused by Win10 or with how one or more of the Visual C++ libraries or updates got installed.

I'm hoping that other people can try out these steps and see if the crash occurs: Place any clip or photo in the timeline, click Modify and choose any mask. Uncheck Keep mask aspect ratio then type in any valid number from 0.001 to 0.999 in either the Height or Width boxes, then press Enter. Try dragging the mask to a new location.

On my systems, this is what happens:



NOTE you may need to click on the YT logo at the bottom right to watch this full screen on YT.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 17. 2015 03:27



YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4496 Offline
[Post New]
Interesting, try the slider.

Jeff

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Oct 17. 2015 09:17

Reply
stevek
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Houston, Texas USA Joined: Jan 25, 2011 12:18 Messages: 4663 Offline
[Post New]
PD 14, W 10 with an image or video file. I followed your directions and did not get a crash. I tried the mask you used and a different one. I used the slider to adjust size but dragged the location.

My computer is equivalent to yous. I have a 760 Ti and an earlier driver. (355.60)

I may be missing somethign but as I said, I did not get a crash following your process.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 17. 2015 09:24

.
.
BoilerPlate: To posters who ask for help -- it is nice to thank the volunteers who try to answer your questions !
Anything I post unless stated with a reference is my personal opinion.
Reply
Neil.F.1955 [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Australia (Port Stephens area, NSW) Joined: Mar 07, 2012 09:15 Messages: 1303 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, Optodata!

Judging by comments made elsewhere on other subjects, it could be a Windows 10 issue. Did you, by chance have PD14 or PD13 installed on a Windows 7 or Windows 8 computer? Did you experience these problems with W7 or W8? A lot of people seemed to be experiencing software or hardware issues with Windows 10 of late, that's why I'm playing it safe and staying with Windows 7.

Cheers!

Neil.
Reply
dgpd2015 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 07, 2014 21:19 Messages: 18 Offline
[Post New]
Optodata,

I have PD 13, Same error I have, I checked at Programs and Features in control panel BAM !

I uninstalled all old Microsoft VC++ from 2005, 2008, 2010, 2012 and 2013.

I download VC redist installer 1.60 from <a>http://mcripblog.cesidian.info/2013/11/vc-redist-installer-160.html#more</a>

I skipped all x86 versions and just install all x64 and MS Visual F# 2.0 runtime installed.

BAM ! PD 13 now working fine drag the pic.

I can't attach the picture here ? how can i do that ? the screen say source when i click attach pic ?

Hope it help.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 5758 Online
[Post New]
stevek and Jeff, yeah, the slider works normally, that's why I asked to test by typing in a number. I'd like to see if it's an issue on Win7 or 8/8.1 too.

dgpd2015, thanks for confirming and for the fix you found. This is a clean install of Win10 and I have ended up with 13 versions of VC++ installed by various programs. I'll try removing the x86 versions and see if I can find which programs depend on which x64 versions.

You can attach a picture (which has to be saved as a file first) by using the Attachments button in the main forum editor. You can't post anything but text in the Quick Reply box. If you want to embed a picture you can upload the clip to a hosting website like Imgur.com and paste the link using the Insert/edit image tool like this:





YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4496 Offline
[Post New]
PD13, PD14, WIN7, pic or video, slider or numeric adjustment, all work correctly

PD13, PD14, WIN10, pic or video, slider adjustment work correctly, numeric adjustment bomb

There also appears to be strange interactions. For instance PD14 and WIN10 with a video. If you first use the slider for adjustment, then move the mask, then use numeric adjustment, then move mask, the bomb won’t occur.

Jeff
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 5758 Online
[Post New]
Wow, thanks for all the quick results. Definitely a Win10 issue, which helps explain why nobody saw it in PD13 before now.

I also found that making other changes before setting the ratio usually prevented the crash, but I wanted to give the exact steps here to repeat the crash to determine if it was something with my machine(s).

Now we know

YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 5758 Online
[Post New]
Well, I tracked down the "responsible" Visual C++ 2012 redistributable library file to c:\Windows\System32\msvcr110.dll. The original version was 11.0.50727.1, dated 7/31/15 and I tried replacing it with an earlier version (11.0.51106.1 dated 11/5/2012), but the crash still happened.

Why the 3-year-old file has a higher version number than the 2-month-old version I don't know. foot-in-mouth

However, since neither version solves the crash and the truly "responsible" file is PDR.exe (and PDR13.exe), I guess I'll wait for CL to fix this with a patch. Maybe they can fully address the AVI issues in Win10 as well...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 18. 2015 01:25



YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team