Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
How To: Transfer 8mm film to video and edit with CLPD13 with GREAT results.
jaymay22
Member Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia. Joined: Aug 27, 2009 07:18 Messages: 143 Offline
[Post New]
https://youtu.be/cR4X5wJys5A - a mini clip of 1960s standard 8mm film transferred, and edited with CLPD13

Cyberlink PD13 can edit your film transfers beautifully and create wonderful productions.
I've been doing my own 1960s 8mm film transfers for about 2 years now, and had some wonderful ideas, tips and tricks from this forum and through perseverence. I thought others may like to know my system if they're attempting to transfer their own old film home movies to video and edit them.

Above is my youtube link to a 4.5 minute mini movie, I've cut up one of my movies to give you a view of what can be achieved with Cyberlink PD13 editing the old film. Remember, film is not HD, only the video camera is, so it's not as clear as modern video!
For those with old 8mm film, you only need an adjustable speed projector, a handicam, a white piece of paper, and a table. That's it!

Now that film is getting old, it's imperative that those who have celluloid film protect it by copying it to digital before it degrades to far. Here's how I do it. I hope it helps someone out there:

1. I have a digital camcorder (I use a panasonic tm900, or my sony pj760 handicam) they take nice AVCHD video so I can make dvds or blu rays, and it's high def enough to look lovely on an hd tv or pc.