CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Anyone using PD13 with a 4K display ?
Reply to this topic
Eugen157
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 660 Offline
[Post New]
How is the scaling from HD to UHD working?



Thanks



Eugene 73s, WA6JZN ex DL9GC
CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
PD14,
Win10,64bit.CPU i7 6700,16GB ,C= 480 GB SSD ,GPU GTX1060 6GB 1 fan. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HDD's for video etc.LG WH16NS40 reads UHD.
4K 24" ViewSonic monitor.Camera Sony FDR-A
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 5816 Offline
[Post New]
You ask this question earlier on 6/29 and got no answer. Here is what I would do. Temporarily moved your pc closer to your 4k tv and connect them with the proper hdmi connections. See for yourself and let us know as you may be one of the few that has a 4k tv. Probably no one has a 4k monitor to answer you but your tv is a good substitute. The very latest 15 feet hdmi cables for 4k video is under $10 at directron.

I have a pc connected to my 2k tv as a home theater setup many years ago.

Let us know if this helps.
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9872 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Eugene -

According to his signature *Paul1945* has 2 4K monitors in his setup. Might be these ones. Maybe a PM will get his attention laughing

I'll hook the laptop up to my Sony UHD TV & let you know.

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Paul1945
Contributor Private Message Location: South Africa Joined: Apr 12, 2014 14:11 Messages: 327 Offline
[Post New]
Yes Boys
Samsung U28D590D - Samsung UHD 28”
And very Happy Pauls PC
X399 AORUS Extreme/AMD Ryzen2970WX/1xQuatro 4000 Driver:Geforce 419.67Skill V DDR4 64GB/3200MHz/Win10 prox64
Intel SSD 750/400 / Intel SSD 750/1.2Tb 1x4TB SSHD /1xSeagate 10TB pro
1xSamsung UA28D590 4k LUMIX GH5 1xLG HDR
Reply
Eugen157
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 660 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for all the responses.

I tried PD13 with a 70" display and 4K looks viable on it. Did not adjust win 7 to increase the size of thumbnails or script or such.

View Sonic has a monitor, at 27" that is reasonably priced, VX2475, will handle HDMI 2 4K at 60P and uses a S-PLS panel. Did not buy yet, am waiting for some reviews to show up on the Amazon website.

There is also a 1x2 HDMI 2 splitter on Amazon, made by Panlong that would allow the 70" 4K set and monitor to be connected to the same 4K 60P video and audio.

My GPU is a GTX960 and handles HDMI 2 4K 60P without any problems

Paul, what Window settings did you have to change in order to get the same or similar scale layout of PD13 at4 K compared to 2K?

Again. thanks all around



Eugene

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 04. 2015 13:16

73s, WA6JZN ex DL9GC
CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
PD14,
Win10,64bit.CPU i7 6700,16GB ,C= 480 GB SSD ,GPU GTX1060 6GB 1 fan. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HDD's for video etc.LG WH16NS40 reads UHD.
4K 24" ViewSonic monitor.Camera Sony FDR-A
Reply
Paul1945
Contributor Private Message Location: South Africa Joined: Apr 12, 2014 14:11 Messages: 327 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Eugene

I am workingh only with 3840x2160..on my Monitors,

Editing 2,7 k and 4k - No change all in 3840 !! Hope i understand you right !! Pauls PC
X399 AORUS Extreme/AMD Ryzen2970WX/1xQuatro 4000 Driver:Geforce 419.67Skill V DDR4 64GB/3200MHz/Win10 prox64
Intel SSD 750/400 / Intel SSD 750/1.2Tb 1x4TB SSHD /1xSeagate 10TB pro
1xSamsung UA28D590 4k LUMIX GH5 1xLG HDR
Reply
Eugen157
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 660 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for the reply Paul

Did you just replace the 2K monitor with a 4K or did you have to make any changes in Window as far as the readability of the 4 K display is concerned.

My concern is not the video connection but the displayed 4K image, for example the script to small to read without strain.

I am talking about PD13 on the display. Not too long ago there were some complaints of PD13 not scaling properly at higher resolutions.

Eugene

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Jul 04. 2015 12:36

73s, WA6JZN ex DL9GC
CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
PD14,
Win10,64bit.CPU i7 6700,16GB ,C= 480 GB SSD ,GPU GTX1060 6GB 1 fan. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HDD's for video etc.LG WH16NS40 reads UHD.
4K 24" ViewSonic monitor.Camera Sony FDR-A
Reply
Paul1945
Contributor Private Message Location: South Africa Joined: Apr 12, 2014 14:11 Messages: 327 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Eugene

No changes in Window 8.1 pro as far as the readability of the 4 K display is concerned. Perfect No scaling problems. ( Pal ) Pauls PC
X399 AORUS Extreme/AMD Ryzen2970WX/1xQuatro 4000 Driver:Geforce 419.67Skill V DDR4 64GB/3200MHz/Win10 prox64
Intel SSD 750/400 / Intel SSD 750/1.2Tb 1x4TB SSHD /1xSeagate 10TB pro
1xSamsung UA28D590 4k LUMIX GH5 1xLG HDR
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team