Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Burned DVD+RW does not play in the DVD player
Oliver1999 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Apr 08, 2015 13:45 Messages: 6 Offline
[Post New]
I thought I would throw this out there before I catch some winks.

I am a novice when it comes to the video world and I am creating my first video to DVD using PD13 and have a few questions. Original movie clips came from a Canon HD camcorder and were recorded in AVCHD. The files were captured and downlooaded to my computer as MTS files. I edited the movie to 70 minutes and produced it in MPEG2 (as per directions from PD13 Standard Definition will only work with DVD's) with the resultant .mpg file size being 4.01G. A DVD+RW disk was burned successfully but it does not play in the DVD player. However it does play through the computer. Is there an obvious reason why this is happening? (There is nothing wrong with the DVD player).

Also when I view the recorded disk through the computer the quality is still very poor in comparison to the same movie I edited with microsoft movie maker that produced a 13G .mp4 movie that was probably produced in HD and not SD. Is it fair to say that the more compressed a file is the poorer the quality?

SO What is the best settings to use when producing a video DVD? I realize there is probably not a straight forward answer since I have watched some tutorials where they show how to burn commercial grade movies that are greater than 120 minutes in length and only 2G in size to DVD's

Thanks,

Oliver
Carl312
Senior Contributor Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]