CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Resizing mixed aspect ratio sources
Reply to this topic
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
I'm editing a project for a club in which I have to use source material from various members (including mine). It's HD AVCHD but some is 1920 x 1080 (16:9) and some is 1440 x 1080 (4:3). The Project will be overall at 16:9.

Power director stretches the 4:3 video when it is imported to the timeline so I therefore need to re-size it. I know I can use the PiP designer to do this with 'Maintain Aspect Ratio' unchecked but what I want to do is zoom the frame to lose the black side bars whilst cropping the top and bottom. The problem then is that once the top and bottom frame edges move beyond the window I can't tell if I'm maintaining the right aspect ratio because the Pip designer doesn't show the frame dimensions.

So, does anyone have any ideas how I can get around this problem? Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 5587 Offline
[Post New]
Check the mediainfo on the 1440x1980 video clip. It is probably 16x9 not 4x3 as is common with hdv. One senior contributor here is very familiar with it.
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
I just right-clicked, selected Properties > Details and it reports Frame Width 1440, Frame Height 1080. I don't currently have MediaInfo installed. Are you suggesting Properties is reporting an incorrect figure? Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
I'm just giving this a bump in the hope that someone might yet have some thoughts on my initial question . . . . . Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9830 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Mike -

This is just what tomasc posted above, in different words.

One of my Canons can record 1440x1080. It uses non-square pixels, so it still displays as a 16:9 video.

You wrote: Power director stretches the 4:3 video when it is imported to the timeline so I therefore need to re-size it. When you import the 1440x1080 clips into PDR, do they display as 16:9 or 4:3?



Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Tony, thanks for responding.

I'm sorry that my original post was a bit ambiguous. What happens is as is shown in your image. Properties reports the frames as 1440 x 1080 but they display with a 16:9 aspect.

Unfortunately the little test clip that I was sent did not contain any image details that would show if it was being displayed distorted. I must admit that the subject of aspect ratio is something I find a little confusing but can I presume, from what you've said, that if the 1440 x 1080 pixels are non-square they will display correctly at 16:9 ratio and won't need any resizing?

If that is the case that brings me to another question : how will PD handle a timeline with a mix of 1920 x 1080 square pixels and 1440 x 1080 non-square? Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9830 Offline
[Post New]
Mike -

You're absolutely right. It's quite normal for cameras to use that as recording option.

Esseentially, you don't have to do anything! After you've edited, just produce to 1920x1080 or 1280x720 (or whatever 16:9 profile you wish).

In basic terms, each pixel in the 1440x1080 video is shaped like ▀ but when it's displayed in PDR, on the camera's monitor or in a media player, each pixel is square ■

This is a reasonably simple explanation of aspect ratio (display, pixel & frame) - http://www.shedworx.com/hd-information/aspect-ratios

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks Tony, that's made things much clearer. smile Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team