Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD13 on a USB external drive - not good
[Post New]
Just reporting what I found out today...

I go back and forth, from work office to home. I try to take my PD13 video projects with me. I am a consulting chemical engineer, and sometimes have opportunity to work on my PD13 projects at my refinery office.

I have a new Western Digital USB hard drive, and use it to take my PD projects back and forth. I found out today, that its performance is very poor, even though it's a USB 3.0 device.

I have a PDS project file that I created at work, and saved to my USB external drive. I brought the drive home, launched the PDS file from it. PowerDirector was very, very, very, slow. So, I saved the PDS file to my computer hard drive, launched it from there, and the performance gain was amazing.

Just curious if others had experienced the same.

Clark

[Post New]
Probably you have one of those with a laptop HDD inside (2.5", 5400rpm) - of course those USB HDD will be slower than a desktop HDD!
USB3 for them is just overkill, they don't even saturate an USB2 connection, it is used just because it can supply more current to the drive (1A for USB 3.0 versus only 0.5A for USB 2.0).
All vodi
Senior Contributor Location: Canada Joined: Aug 21, 2009 11:24 Messages: 1431 Offline
[Post New]
I use WD external drives on USB 3.0 and have no issues with PD13. The original files and the rendered files all go to the external drive. Win 10, i7
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Just reporting what I found out today...