Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Workflow Tips and Ideas
vn800rider
Senior Contributor Location: Darwen, UK Joined: May 15, 2008 04:32 Messages: 1949 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Dafydd,

Referring to Peter's post :-
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/4194.page
"I am new to Powerdirector and, silly me, started with 40
GB of avchd (Canon hf100) from Africa safaris and I now have 2 1/2 hours of video selected (for our own use only) with more to go. Today, I discovered your forum and how helpful it is -- thank you.

But I gather that I will not get away with even editing such large files (it is getting slower and slower), much less outputing them. Is there a way to split up the file I already have (40+ hours of editing) or do I need to start over?"

It seems that a few more people are using HD and having to deal with large/multiple files and the PC/laptop resources needed to effectively deal with HD video.

I've searched the forum for posts about workflow etc but nothing really seems to offer a 'tips and tricks' guide/suggestions especially for those just getting into editing. Whilst I'm all for 'experiential learning' to use the jargon, other people's experiences are often really useful.

The forum is great for answering specific often detailed issues thrown up by PD but I wonder if a sticky post on organising workflow etc might match your other excellent guides. For example, some of Bif's posts give really good advice on techniques/issues that influence editing and production but are not confined to the guts of PD working.

So as a starter :-