Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Does Power Director Capture from a Dazzle Video Capture Device
Jumpmaster30 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Dec 26, 2014 14:46 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
So the software that came with the Dazzle Video Capture Device is junk and won't run on a Windows 8.1 platform. A friend recommended PowerDirector. Will it capture from a Dazzle device? I am new to video editing and have a lot of old Hi8 video I need to transfer to the computer.
stevek
Senior Contributor Location: Houston, Texas USA Joined: Jan 25, 2011 12:18 Messages: 4663 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: So the software that came with the Dazzle Video Capture Device is junk and won't run on a Windows 8.1 platform. A friend recommended PowerDirector. Will it capture from a Dazzle device? I am new to video editing and have a lot of old Hi8 video I need to transfer to the computer.

First, I tried a similar capture device and it did not work with PowerDirector 12.

Second- There is a trial version of PowerDirector 13. Why don't you try that.

Have you found a W8.1 driver for that device? There are some very good FREE video capture programs that are available - Google for them. Windows Movie Maker has a W8.1 version; that might work with the device.

Read this: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-live/movie-maker-import-photos-videos-camera

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at Dec 28. 2014 08:06

BoilerPlate: To posters who ask for help -- it is nice to thank the volunteers who try to answer your questions !
Anything I post unless stated with a reference is my personal opinion.
[Post New]
Jumpmaster, what are you using to play the Hi8 tapes?