CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Magic fix stabilization
Reply to this topic
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
I am trying to use the stabilization fix and am having some difficulty.

It goes through the process OK. But during the stabilizing, it seems to move the 4X3 frame left to right to accommodate the effect. That also comes out on the final product. It is distracting to see the frame move left to right when watching the video.

Is there an adjustment to stop the 4x3 frame from moving so you just the image stabilized?
Reply
PlaySound [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Dec 02, 2010 10:26 Messages: 2031 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I am trying to use the stabilization fix and am having some difficulty.

It goes through the process OK. But during the stabilizing, it seems to move the 4X3 frame left to right to accommodate the effect. That also comes out on the final product. It is distracting to see the frame move left to right when watching the video.

Is there an adjustment to stop the 4x3 frame from moving so you just the image stabilized?


The process of stabilization should be applied to the original video before setting text, frame etc ...

The stabilizer will give Zoon, in the image and shaken the sense opposite to that in the video.

If only a small frame, can first enlarge (zoon) the picture to disappear the frame, then apply the stabilizer.

If it is a FullHD image to DVD, should look good.

For image stored on the same qualidadde, will have loss of quality.

In many cases it is better to lose quality and eliminate shaken image.

If you have a 4x3 image and converting this to 16x9, use the 4x3 mask, it saves the video not show the swinging edges.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Nov 22. 2014 15:54

AMD-FX 8350 / 8GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD Radeon R9 270 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 7-64 / PD16 Ultimate
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for the reply:

This basically is what I have:

A scanned 8mm film scanned at high resolution. A 50' film giving me 3.5GBfile in JPG.

I use Power director to edit (TRIM) and down speed the film to 18FPS. That gives me a 350MB .MOV file.

Then I take he 350MB file into Powerdirector to apply stabilization, lighting adjustments and denoiser.

I am thinking I should apply all editing including the Magic tools on the full 3.5GB file not the condensed .MOV file.

What do you think?
Reply
PlaySound [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Dec 02, 2010 10:26 Messages: 2031 Offline
[Post New]
Eu estou pensando que eu deveria aplicar toda a edição, incluindo as ferramentas de magia sobre o arquivo de 3.5GB completo não o arquivo .MOV condensado . o que você acha?


That's what I would do, I think is the best.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 22. 2014 17:20

AMD-FX 8350 / 8GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD Radeon R9 270 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 7-64 / PD16 Ultimate
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
Hello,

I did try doing the editing on the full 3.5GB .MPG file same result.

The 4x3 frame the video is inside of, moves left to right during playback.

You mentioned a 4X3 mask - where is that and how does that work?

I am taking the 4X3 size to the 16x9 size. Maybe I should keep it at the 4x3 size.

Or, maybe it is asking to much to get rid of stabilizing issues.

Alan
Reply
PlaySound [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Dec 02, 2010 10:26 Messages: 2031 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hello,

I did try doing the editing on the full 3.5GB .MPG file same result.

The 4x3 frame the video is inside of, moves left to right during playback.

You mentioned a 4X3 mask - where is that and how does that work?

I am taking the 4X3 size to the 16x9 size. Maybe I should keep it at the 4x3 size.

Or, maybe it is asking to much to get rid of stabilizing issues.

Alan


It has 2 paths in my understanding.

You save the video in 4x3, then converts to 16x9 this involves re-rendering.

Or use the mask 4x3 on the issue, does the job all at once.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Nov 22. 2014 21:36

AMD-FX 8350 / 8GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD Radeon R9 270 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 7-64 / PD16 Ultimate
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
Not sure we are on the same page.

It appears that during stabilizing it has to move the image a little to allow for the stabilizing fix. That movement of the window stays with the video itself and appears when you play back and it moves left and right sides of the video continually moves (adjusts) to accommodate the stabilizing of the film.

Attached is file to look at after stabilizing.

Hope this helps.

Alan
 Filename
Test for forum.mov
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
33923 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
158 time(s)
Reply
PlaySound [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Dec 02, 2010 10:26 Messages: 2031 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Not sure we are on the same page.

It appears that during stabilizing it has to move the image a little to allow for the stabilizing fix. That movement of the window stays with the video itself and appears when you play back and it moves left and right sides of the video continually moves (adjusts) to accommodate the stabilizing of the film.

Attached is file to look at after stabilizing.

Hope this helps.

Alan


Your video is already stabilized, I applied the mask here and it works.

reduced video just to see how it looks.

In this case that would render the video again.

You apply mascara to the video in full-screen size 4x3.

If you see black band around espande the image, can be directly in the preview, to form playing out the black bars.

Now you apply the stabilizer, I think in your video is + or - 50.

The play and sees the preview is this good.

The mask is fixed will not shaken with video.

An option to create a mask with Rectangular 4x3 and transparently use the video track below.

Note: I suppose the video will remain with the 4x3 format in 16x9 video in this case will have the side black bars.

If you want to 16x9 full screen, no need to use masks only zoon the image up to fill the 16x9 screen, and common cutting off heads in this case.

google translator
 Filename
Test for forum2.wmv
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
653 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
193 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Nov 22. 2014 21:09

AMD-FX 8350 / 8GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD Radeon R9 270 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 7-64 / PD16 Ultimate
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
I appreciate your help.

How do you apply the mask? Haven't had experience in that process.

Alan
Reply
PlaySound [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Dec 02, 2010 10:26 Messages: 2031 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I appreciate your help.

How do you apply the mask? Haven't had experience in that process.

Alan


I did not give details thought it did not need.

1 - Select the video in the timeline.

2 - Modify button opens the Pip Designer.

3 - Mask button.

4 - Select the 1st masks the right of the X.

5 - save button

Have to do to each segment (clip).

Normal is doing this in the first when the single file.

[Thumb - mask 4x3.jpg]
 Filename
mask 4x3.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
209 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
65 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 22. 2014 21:37

AMD-FX 8350 / 8GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD Radeon R9 270 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 7-64 / PD16 Ultimate
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
You have been a tremendous help in walking me through the stabilization issue.

I did not know of the modify/mask concept and now am a little smarter.

Thanks again,

Alan
Reply
BarryTheCrab [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6110 Offline
[Post New]
Another method of using your 4:3 footage in a 16:9 timeline is to use an image-grab from the video, or some representative image as the backing.
This replaces the black bars, and removes the need for heavy cropping.

I sometimes blur the backdrop image or video, so it does not distract from the central video file, only adds to it's appearance.
For this rather boring video I didn't bother to blur, but I did use a feathered mask. The fact that the central video is lower resolution, reducing it's screen real estate is not such a bad thing, it looks sharper that way.
I hate black bars, and I hate cropping.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 23. 2014 19:09

HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team