CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD13 Produce issues, WYSIWYG?
Reply to this topic
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4541 Offline
[Post New]
I've got a little routine that exercises many of the "Produce" and/or "Create Disc" options that I'd tend to use in PD and looks for what appears to be anomalies, in all some 100+ configurations evaluated. I've been bit too many times with releases, this way I know what to avoid. Anomalies are things like wrong bitrate vs setting, wrong fps for settings and so on. Many apparent anomalies in PD13 to me, I have listed a few below. Many settings however do yield WYSIWYG results as one would expected.

Timeline was a PD13 sample file that was produced as 1920x1080/60p 28Mbps 59.94fps H.264 in M2TS Container and used in the timeline, no edits, pic attached, easy for CL to debug if desired. The timeline was set to NTSC 60fps to match produced source clip and all produced files use NTSC setting. All fps and bitrate quoted below based on PD13 "View Properties" which also appears to be part of the problem.

Nvidia, GTX580, 337.88 5/19/2014 Drivers (compliant with CL spec older than 340.43 release)
Quick Sync(QS) HD4000, 10.18.10.3621 5/17/2014 Drivers

For MKV Container, H.264, and standard profile 1920x1080/60p 28Mbps
1) For CPU encoding I actually get 60.00fps even though details of profile show setting at 59.94fps. For Nvidia HA encoding you get the stand error to be sure driver, WMP and Quicktime is updated which appears to be bogus based on item 2. (pic attached)

2) What is odd about item 1, if you simply create a custom profile from the standard profile and manually select the 59.94fps, same setting as standard profile, both CPU encoding and Nvidia HA work as advertised and produce 59.94fps output. Likewise, if you create a custom profile with 60fps, you get 60.00fps, same is true with custom 30fps, and custom 29.97fps settings. Something truly strange with the basic profile that PD13 detects with Nvidia HA applicability.

3) If you create a custom profile based on the standard profile 1920x1080/60p 28Mbps with a custom 60fps, PD13 hangs with QS encoding. After PD13 hang, further QS encoding with that profile is simply greyed out and not available. One needs to reset a PD13 flag with regedit in order to use QS effectively again. Restarting PD and/or reboot did not correct, only option was to reset flag from newly set 1 after hang back to typical value of 0. It's like PD13 traps the failure and then writes to registry and simply greys out capability ever after. A PD13 reinstall should work to reset registry as well but I didn't verify.

For M2TS Container, H.265, and standard 1920x1080/60p 19Mbps
5) For CPU encoding I get encoded results of 29.97fps and only ~7Mbps, profile setting is 59.94fps and 17Mbps. Obvious issues here with what "View Properties" reports as not consistent with file size or other tools.

6) If you create a custom profile based on this standard profile and only change the default 59.94fps to 29.97fps I get output of 14.99fps and only 5.95Mbps. More obvious issues here with what "View Properties" reports as not consistent with file size or other tools.

Just to show the hit and miss fps and bitrate issues, I list this success as a indication that things are done right at times. Same settings as item 5 but use of MKV container instead of M2TS. (pic attached)
7) For MKV Container, H.265, 1920x1080/60p 19Mbps, You get 59.94fps and ~17Mbps as you should for CPU encoding

Others seeing these inconsistencies in "Produce"? I've also seen several similar issues in the "Created Disc" module as well.

Jeff
[Thumb - timeline_PD13.png]
 Filename
timeline_PD13.png
[Disk]
 Description
timeline and clip specs
 Filesize
416 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
206 time(s)
[Thumb - bogus_error.png]
 Filename
bogus_error.png
[Disk]
 Description
Nvidia HA use error
 Filesize
834 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
210 time(s)
[Thumb - MKV_M2TS.png]
 Filename
MKV_M2TS.png
[Disk]
 Description
MKV and M2TS
 Filesize
246 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
176 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Sep 20. 2014 14:05

Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6057 Offline
[Post New]
Where should Cyberlink send your check? HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Analog tape capture equipment.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-609762572849441
Reply
All vodi
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Canada Joined: Aug 21, 2009 11:24 Messages: 1431 Offline
[Post New]
Yes. Unfortunately these folks do one thing very well from release to release : fail to run QC routines to check to see what is out of spec.

Good job on your part !

Sadly they also tend to ignore user tests as if they knew better or something. It must be a cultural thing ?! Win 10, i7
Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Thank you Jeff for your report. I have passed it onto CyberLink for them to read and sort out.
Dafydd
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team