CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Can't burn to folder in PD9
Reply to this topic
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
This is a follow-on to my thread regarding menu creation for Blu-Ray. Having created a useable menu I then wanted to burn to a folder but the option remains greyed out even after unchecking the Burn to disc box. Any suggestions would be most welcome.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Aug 09. 2014 04:50

Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Any ideas......anyone? Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9088 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Any ideas......anyone?

If you have a Retail version. Re-install PD 9.

If you have a bundled version, that feature may not be available.
Check your Version, Number and Build.

PD 9 was the first Powerdirector that had the Folder option by default.
PD 8 there is a Registry hack to activate the Folder option.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Aug 12. 2014 10:14

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Carl,

I do indeed have a retail CD. However I think I'll leave a reinstall as a last resort in case it opens a can of worms as, other than this issue, PD9 is pretty stable and I have successfully directly burned a trial video to a rewriteable Blu-Ray disc. I see there is no obvious registry key to enable this function in PD9.

Would you recommend just just reinstalling over the existing installation or deinstalling first? Would either method preserve the existing registry entries for my settings?

This menu system is still giving me high blood pressure - dangerous at my age. Even though I'd saved my project with the newly created menu I didn't notice that the blasted thing had re-inserted the default music track that I'd previously removed back into the menu - Aaaaargggh!!!
Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9088 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi Carl,

I do indeed have a retail CD. However I think I'll leave a reinstall as a last resort in case it opens a can of worms as, other than this issue, PD9 is pretty stable and I have successfully directly burned a trial video to a rewriteable Blu-Ray disc. I see there is no obvious registry key to enable this function in PD9.

If you remove the current PowerDirector, you can get a clean install from the CD. Be sure to answer yes to all requests to install QuickTime and Smartsound.
Run Powerdirector and activate. Close.

After you have installed fresh from the CD go to Powerdirector Patches and install the latest only.

http://www.cyberlink.com/support/powerdirector-ultra/patches_en_US.html


Would you recommend just just reinstalling over the existing installation or deinstalling first? Would either method preserve the existing registry entries for my settings?

Uninstall via Windows Control Panel > Programs and Features. Then run the install from the CD(DVD).


This menu system is still giving me high blood pressure - dangerous at my age. Even though I'd saved my project with the newly created menu I didn't notice that the blasted thing had re-inserted the default music track that I'd previously removed back into the menu - Aaaaargggh!!!

You are not the only one frustrated with the Powerdirector Menu System.

Editors have been requesting changes for years.

You can use third party DVD Creation software. And forget about the Menu in PowerDirector.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Aug 13. 2014 10:46

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: After you have installed fresh from the CD go to Powerdirector Patches and install the latest only.

http://www.cyberlink.com/support/powerdirector-ultra/patches_en_US.html

If I do the clean install from CD I won't be applying any patches as the build 3305, which I think is the latest for PD9, caused problems the last time I tried it.

You are not the only one frustrated with the Powerdirector Menu System.

Editors have been requesting changes for years.

You can use third party DVD Creation software. And forget about the Menu in PowerDirector.

That's what I'm hoping to do. So far, though, the only authoring program I've found that looks as if it might have the features I want is somewhat over my budget. I'll keep looking. If I do find such a program then I expect I'll only need to produce the edited material to files so won't need the burn to folder option. If I don't find one the burn to disc will suffice. Either way I reckon I can do without the burn to folder so there's currently no urgent need to do anything to enable it. Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4755 Offline
[Post New]
Fenman,

I don't recall exactly, but early versions of PD9 did not support the burn to folder feature, it was greyed out. This was corrected in a patch but I don't recall exactly which one.

Have you verified with regedit that you have the registry entry?

Jeff
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Jeff,

Yes, in my first reply to Carl I mentioned that I couldn't find a key that enabled that function. I wonder if it would be the same registry entry as in PD8. If so and someone could let me know it's path and value I could try adding it.

As I mentioned above I'm reluctant to try the most recent patch 3305 for PD9 because it caused problems for me. It messed up the Mpeg-2 standard-definition DVD production. The produced files exhibited the characteristics of field-order reversal, i.e. juddery motion. Since there is no option to define field order in the custom Mpeg-2 settings the only way I could fix it was to de-install then re-install the original build from my retail CD.

Maybe a slightly earlier patch would fix the burn to folder problem without introducing that issue but I'd be a bit nervous about trying it. I'd much rather try a registry hack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Aug 14. 2014 04:36

Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9088 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi Jeff,

Yes, in my first reply to Carl I mentioned that I couldn't find a key that enabled that function. I wonder if it would be the same registry entry as in PD8. If so and someone could let me know it's path and value I could try adding it.

As I mentioned above I'm reluctant to try the most recent patch 3305 for PD9 because it caused problems for me. It messed up the Mpeg-2 standard-definition DVD production. The produced files exhibited the characteristics of field-order reversal, i.e. juddery motion. Since there is no option to define field order in the custom Mpeg-2 settings the only way I could fix it was to de-install then re-install the original build from my retail CD.

Maybe a slightly earlier patch would fix the burn to folder problem without introducing that issue but I'd be a bit nervous about trying it. I'd much rather try a registry hack.

Try 2702 patch, it say enhances BluRay Burning Engine.

You should try the 3305 patch again, that is the patch I am using in my Powerdirector 9 Ultra.
You can install 3305 after you have tried 2702.

http://www.cyberlink.com/support/powerdirector-ultra/patches_en_US.html

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Ok, Carl, I'll think about it.

Thanks for your contribution and to Jeff also.
Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9088 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Ok, Carl, I'll think about it.

Thanks for your contribution and to Jeff also.

I re-wrote the PD 8 Folder Activation. It is not found with a search anymore.
I have a Paper Print of that procedure.

 Filename
Folder Activation.txt
[Disk]
 Description
PD BluRay Folder Activation
 Filesize
1 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
218 time(s)
Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Brilliant! That did the trick. Many thanks Carl.
Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9088 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Brilliant! That did the trick. Many thanks Carl.

Good to know it worked for you.

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Yes. Thanks again. Also interesting (though perhaps not surprising) that it proved to be the same key in PD9. Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team