Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Newbie needs help reducing file size of video
DrewDrew [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: May 20, 2014 21:45 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Hey there!

I'm pretty new to this video editing thing, which is kind of exciting because there's heaps for me to learn, but I'm struggling with one thing that is kind of important for how I want to use my videos.

I'm an actor and I mostly use PowerDirector to edit video auditions that I need to send off to casting directors around the world. Most of my auditions are about 3 minutes long, but their file sizes are pretty high - 200MB. I need to get them much lower with as little compromise to quality as possible. I've tried clicking on every butting in the 'produce' step of the editing suite, but nothing is solving my problem.

Any help?

Cheers, Drew
Carl312
Senior Contributor Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I need to send off to casting directors around the world. Most of my auditions are about 3 minutes long,

The smallest files are WMV.

The factor that makes for large files is mainly the Bit Rate of the encoding.

The second factor is resolution.

Depending on the quality of video you want to Sent to Directors, you can send lower bit rate and lower resolution.

PD has several lower quality WMV profiles.
The lowest quality is 320x240/30p (300Kbps).
I would think you would at least send SD quality Video.
720x480/30p (1.6 Mbps)

I suggest that you take one of your 3 minute auditions and try different productions to see which ones give the results you want.
A compromise between file size and quality.