Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
The Quality of technical support for PowerDVD
Crunchy Doodle
Newbie Location: Southern California Joined: Jul 31, 2008 10:12 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
For me, it depends on how I requested it. When I needed help upgrading from PowerDVD 7 Deluxe to PowerDVD 8 Ultra, I sent a message to technical support and received a reasonably prompt, fully detailed and useful solution. I was actually a bit shocked it was so complete and just right.

For my second, possibly easier problem, I used the phone support I got along with my purchase. CyberLink appears to out-source their phone support to India. Being an experienced software engineer, I knew exactly how to explain the problem I was seeing. I wanted to use the S/PDIF optical output of my SoundBlaster card to feed the raw 5.1 SurroundSound audio directly from the DVD being played by PowerDVD 8 Ultra to my Yamaha 5.1 sound projector speaker system, and the "use S/PDIF" option was not showing up in the audio configuration of PowerDVD. I incorrectly assumed this would be a fairly common problem that they could make some useful suggestion for. Not in this case.