CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Can I uninstall PD11 since using PD12 now?
Reply to this topic
Eugen157
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 660 Offline
[Post New]
I did a little research on this subject but did not find a 100% answer. My concern is wiping out PD11 files that are used in PD12.

Any first hand experiences ?


Eugene 73s, WA6JZN ex DL9GC
CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
PD14,
Win10,64bit.CPU i7 6700,16GB ,C= 480 GB SSD ,GPU GTX1060 6GB 1 fan. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HDD's for video etc.LG WH16NS40 reads UHD.
4K 24" ViewSonic monitor.Camera Sony FDR-A
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9872 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Eugene -

My first hand experience tells me that - unless you have a particular reason for having PD11 installed - you're better off ditching it.

On one PC which has DirectorSuite 1 & 2 (i.e. including PD11 & PD12) some of my PD12 libraries are choked with double entries of effects, PiP Objects, Particles, Titles, Styles etc. Maybe that's a product of the way contents packs are installed.

As examples:
1. Baby Room (style) is installed
- C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDirector11\Styles - and
- C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\templates\PowerDirector Content Pack 12\PowerDirector 12 Content Pack Essential\Styles
2. Picture Frames (style) is installed
- C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDirector12\Styles - and
- C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\templates\PowerDirector Content Pack 12\PowerDirector 12 Content Pack Premium\Styles

I could never understand the thinking in that, but no one else did either when I asked about it in PD10!

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6124 Offline
[Post New]
I am concerned about the possible removal of many of the New Blue Effects from PD11.
There is a history of unintended deletion. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
[Post New]
Quote: I did a little research on this subject but did not find a 100% answer. My concern is wiping out PD11 files that are used in PD12.
Any first hand experiences ?
Eugene

I lived for a while with PD11 and PD12 on the same PC.
Observed that the effects of (download and custom) have been shared.
The effects of packet (Etentiales and Premium) are separated.
So if you uninstall PD11 package will not change anything for PD12 I think.
Some old effect is missing in PD12, I think can be downloaded from DirectorZone.
I got to join files of PD11 to PD12 folder which generated duplicity and think some overlap, an effect nullifying the other.
Currently I only have PD12 and its packages.
(PD12) do everything (PD11) was and more.
Now with the latest update V2240. This best and but stable than PD11.
Not to say that everything's perfect, right now I have 2 questions awaiting Cyberlink support. and have another waiting.
I remember that PD8 was only good in the last update before leaving PD9

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 08. 2014 21:11

AMD-FX 8350 / 8GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD Radeon R9 270 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 7-64 / PD16 Ultimate
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9872 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I am concerned about the possible removal of many of the New Blue Effects from PD11.


That's a fair point, Barry!

PD12 (in DS2) doesn't have the New Blue Paint, Motion & Art Effects

Video Essentials I, II & III are installed at C:\Program Files\NewBlue. Here - the Paint, Motion & Art Effects are installed at C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared files\Plugin\NewBlue - I guess you could back up that folder (was it Nina who did that successfully?).

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Eugen157
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 660 Offline
[Post New]
Good morning all.

I was trying to reduce the amount of clutter on my C drive, just as a matter of principle. However it is usually matters of principle that get me into trouble so I will not do it.

My mistake was getting an upgrade, should have bought the disc version in a box.

Spend the last few days drooling over the Sony FDR-AX100, looks like this year will be one of change here.


http://www.hdwarrior.co.uk/2014/01/07/new-sony-4k-camcorder-fdr-ax100/comment-page-1/

The local discount store Costco is offering the HISENSE 50" 4K at a steep discount it has a jaw dropping UBB demo loop.Plus HDMI 2.0 however just one, the others are HDMI 1.4.

Thanks all

Eugene

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 09. 2014 13:10

73s, WA6JZN ex DL9GC
CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
PD14,
Win10,64bit.CPU i7 6700,16GB ,C= 480 GB SSD ,GPU GTX1060 6GB 1 fan. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HDD's for video etc.LG WH16NS40 reads UHD.
4K 24" ViewSonic monitor.Camera Sony FDR-A
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team