CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Menu Designer: button sizing
Reply to this topic
jerrys
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Britain, CT, USA (between New York and Boston) Joined: Feb 10, 2010 21:36 Messages: 1013 Offline
[Post New]
I want to add a button to the scenes menu. That's not a problem, in itself, but I want the buttons to look similar and well arranged. I have a simple question to begin with:

How do I make a new button the same size as the others? Jerry Schwartz
Reply
James1
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada Joined: Jun 10, 2010 16:20 Messages: 1783 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
I have a bit of bad news for you..the button sizes have to max 512X512px, and then can be re-sized and but you cannot mix the buttons ( or hi-lite for the buttons) once you choose a button style all buttons are the same. You can arrange them by selecting and dragging around (same with the names (item #)) but you can't have them too close or you get an error about overlapping.
That is a pet peeve of mine...
Jim
p.s. Unless some one know of a way let me know..
Jim

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 23. 2013 23:14

Intel i7-2600@3.4Gz Geforce 560ti-1GB Graphic accelerator, windows 7 Premium 12GB memory

Visit GranPapa64's channel for your YouTube experience of the day!
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9795 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Jerry -

You're referring to chapter/scenes buttons, I think.

As Jim says, it can't be done. When you add a new button it arrives with its default size attached! Then you have to go through the silly process of trying to resize each one accurately with only the grid lines to guide you.

I've made a series of "multi-buttoned" menus that are pretty well lined up & consistent. All I do is modify those, so I don't have to do all that resizing again.

You'll find them on DZ if they're of any use to you. The numbers in the title indicate the number of buttons. Just modify them to suit yourself.

[2] http://directorzone.cyberlink.com/detail/124376007
[3] http://directorzone.cyberlink.com/detail/124376011
[4] http://directorzone.cyberlink.com/detail/124376013
[5] http://directorzone.cyberlink.com/detail/124376090
[6] http://directorzone.cyberlink.com/detail/124376093
[8] http://directorzone.cyberlink.com/detail/131969186
[14] http://directorzone.cyberlink.com/detail/131969700

Cheers - Tony

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 24. 2013 00:29


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
jerrys
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Britain, CT, USA (between New York and Boston) Joined: Feb 10, 2010 21:36 Messages: 1013 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks, Tony.

I didn't bother checking DirectorZone because this was supposed to be a quick and dirty project. It turned out to be like crawling over chopped glass.

It was a good excuse to re-familiarize myself with PD. Jerry Schwartz
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team