CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD12 stops working when FX tab is selected - SOLVED
Reply to this topic
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi All

An unusual occurance is happening that causes PD to crash

It started in PD11 when the NewBlue Art Effect (2) was selected (see photo):



And now in PD12 when the FX tab is selected PD12 crashes (see photo):



I could put up with this inconvenience in PD11 as it only crashed if I selected the NewBlue Art Effect (2) tab, but in PD12 it crashes instantly when selecteing the FX tab.

I'm guessing there's a corrupt or missing file somewhere so, does anyone know a way of deleting the NewBlue Art Effects (2) from the PD program to prevent this crash or is a complete uninstall required????

Many, many thanks

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at Sep 21. 2013 21:51

Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
vn800rider
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Darwen, UK Joined: May 15, 2008 04:32 Messages: 1931 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Neil,

Doesn't happen when I select fx, but then I don't have NB Art Effects 2 installed.
So that might support your theory - or not???

Cheers
Adrian Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. (see below)
Confucius
AMD Phenom IIX6 1055T, win10, 5 internal drives, 7 usb drives, struggling power supply.
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9682 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Neil -

That's no good mate. Doesn't happen here, but I guess we're getting used to parts of PD behaving differently on different set-ups.

I don't know of any way of isolating the un-install of NB Art Effects. ThE only thing I can find is in C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\Shared files\Plugin\NewBlue - there's an uninstaller for VideoEssentialsBundle for PDR12. That looks like it's take out the works!

There's something wrong in any case Neil. 2 (only) Art Effects - there should be 11.

I'd do a complete uninstall myself - might correct the problem.

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
1Nina
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Norway, 250km southwest of Oslo Joined: Oct 08, 2008 04:12 Messages: 1067 Offline
[Post New]
Neil,

just a remark on NB fx – and my “old” system :

(Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 960 @ 3.20GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory: 12288MB RAM Available OS Memory: 12280MB RAM Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470)

I have some NBfx connected to another NLE, and what always happens, no matter
what fx I choose, the computer struggles; in preview, audio and render.
I never had crashes, but my experience is that NBfx takes a lot of resources, leaving me
no option other than pre-render bits if I have to use an effect.

My newly purchased laptop has about the same specs written above,
except for a newer card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 770M.
The 12th resides there. I have no problems (so far) with the Essentials, but they are
the “kind” ones. My experiences with tougher NB effects are as I said above.
(That’s why I hesitate investing in more NBfx’s , but I look forward to read what you find wrong/not right in the matter.)


Nina Go to PDtoots for PowerDirector Tutorials.

[url="https://www.petitpoisvideo.com"][b
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for the prompt replies :

Adrian: I assume this NewBlue Art Effects is a plugin (as I have purchased additional NB effects and 'borrowed' some too.

Nina: I think my laptop might have enough umph as I have used all the other NBFX without issue.

Tony: I saw that plugin folder too. Do you mean uninstall just the NB stuff from uninstall program list or uninstall all versions of PD (10,11,12) I have on my laptop?

: Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
stevek
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Houston, Texas USA Joined: Jan 25, 2011 12:18 Messages: 4621 Offline
[Post New]
Neil, Sorry if I'm stating the obvious. Sometimes strong antivirus programs will block some of the items that need to be put into the registry. (I'm sure you knew that).

Some strong registry cleaners will also wreak havoc with the registry for some products.

You did not have all 11 of the effects with Power Director 11, it may have been a long standing issue. I looked at PD 10 and I don't see the effects listed. You may have to reinstall PD 11 and then PD 12 with the antivirus off to see if they show up.

Reconsider your use of a registry cleaner.


.
.
BoilerPlate: To posters who ask for help -- it is nice to thank the volunteers who try to answer your questions !
Anything I post unless stated with a reference is my personal opinion.
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks Steve Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi All

Just a follow up.

I removed/uninstalled the NewBlue Video Essentials 1,2,3,4,5 and 6 plug-ins and then re-installed them.

So far so good. PD12 works fine.

Thanks for all your advice.

Happy editing Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
SoCalDude
Member Private Message Location: Sunny Southern California Joined: Aug 12, 2013 20:48 Messages: 60 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I removed/uninstalled the NewBlue Video Essentials 1,2,3,4,5 and 6 plug-ins and then re-installed them.

So far so good. PD12 works fine.

I, too, was having PD12 Ultimate crash on me when I go to the Fx room. This happened three or four times just now. So, I decided to remove/uninstall the NewBlue Essentials 1, 2, and 3.

My question now is, how do I re-install? Where are the setup programs? ---
- PowerDirector 13 Ultimate
- DJI Phantom 4 Drone
- GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition (two of these)
- Kodak Zx5 HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera
- Canon PowerShot SD1300 (HD video & stills
- Canon EOS 40D DSLR w/lots of lenses--my favorite being a EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Quote:
Quote: I removed/uninstalled the NewBlue Video Essentials 1,2,3,4,5 and 6 plug-ins and then re-installed them.

So far so good. PD12 works fine.

I, too, was having PD12 Ultimate crash on me when I go to the Fx room. This happened three or four times just now. So, I decided to remove/uninstall the NewBlue Essentials 1, 2, and 3.

My question now is, how do I re-install? Where are the setup programs?


Hi SoCalDude

Mine were in my C Drive in a folder called NewBlue and also for some reason in My Documents.

Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
SoCalDude
Member Private Message Location: Sunny Southern California Joined: Aug 12, 2013 20:48 Messages: 60 Offline
[Post New]
Quote:
Quote:
Quote: I removed/uninstalled the NewBlue Video Essentials 1,2,3,4,5 and 6 plug-ins and then re-installed them.

So far so good. PD12 works fine.

I, too, was having PD12 Ultimate crash on me when I go to the Fx room. This happened three or four times just now. So, I decided to remove/uninstall the NewBlue Essentials 1, 2, and 3.

My question now is, how do I re-install? Where are the setup programs?

Mine were in my C Drive in a folder called NewBlue and also for some reason in My Documents.

I found a bunch of newblue PNG's and XML files on my computer but I don't see an installation/setup program (.exe or .msi). ---
- PowerDirector 13 Ultimate
- DJI Phantom 4 Drone
- GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition (two of these)
- Kodak Zx5 HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera
- Canon PowerShot SD1300 (HD video & stills
- Canon EOS 40D DSLR w/lots of lenses--my favorite being a EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi

My NewBlue effects were ones that I had purchased.

Initially the program files were located in my Download folder.

I saved these files as a back up just in case. Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
SoCalDude
Member Private Message Location: Sunny Southern California Joined: Aug 12, 2013 20:48 Messages: 60 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks, CubbyHouseFilms.

I must have installed the NewBlue effects 1, 2, & 3 from somewhere, seeing that they were in the list of Windows programs to uninstall and I did successfully uninstall them.

When I first purchased PD12, below are the six files that I downloaded and installed...surely, NewBlue must be part of one of those files, yes? If so, do I just re-run that setup program?

1 - PowerDirector12_Ultimate_VDE130625-01.exe
2 - PowerDirector12_ContentPack_Essential_PCP130619-01.exe
3 - PowerDirector12_ContentPack_Premium_PCP130619-02.exe
4 - CreativeDesignPack_Travel_CDP130812-03.exe
5 - CreativeDesignPack_Holiday_CDP121106-01.exe
6 - MenuTemplatePack_RomancePackv3_MTP130731-01.exe ---
- PowerDirector 13 Ultimate
- DJI Phantom 4 Drone
- GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition (two of these)
- Kodak Zx5 HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera
- Canon PowerShot SD1300 (HD video & stills
- Canon EOS 40D DSLR w/lots of lenses--my favorite being a EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9682 Offline
[Post New]
Hi SoCalDude -

Neil was able to re-install because he had purchased VE packs previously... so he separate installers.

PD12 Ultimate & the "Suites" come with VE I, II & III. Which version did you install?


Forget all that - you just answered it!

I think that if you re-install both Contents packs (Premium & Essential) your Video Essentials packs will be restored.

Cheers - Tony

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Sep 22. 2013 02:58


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi

I'm not sure to be honest, hopefully someone else can chime in on this topic. Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
1Nina
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Norway, 250km southwest of Oslo Joined: Oct 08, 2008 04:12 Messages: 1067 Offline
[Post New]
Just to be clear, guys;

Essential + Premium pack should have NB fx 1,2,3?
Is that amounting to be (only) 10 effects? (+ one for download/purchase)
I seem to have only Essential , though Premium pack is installed.

Reinstall?

(by the way; I didn’t get notice of answers in this thread……)

Nina

Edit: Never mind!! Ultra...Ultimate....one / the other - had to install 11 again.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Sep 22. 2013 07:43

Go to PDtoots for PowerDirector Tutorials.

[url="https://www.petitpoisvideo.com"][b
Reply
RobAC [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 09, 2013 18:20 Messages: 406 Offline
[Post New]
Quote:
[...]
I don't know of any way of isolating the un-install of NB Art Effects. ThE only thing I can find is in C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\Shared files\Plugin\NewBlue - there's an uninstaller for VideoEssentialsBundle for PDR12. That looks like it's take out the works!

There's something wrong in any case Neil. 2 (only) Art Effects - there should be 11.
[...]
Cheers - Tony


Also check the 64 bit install directory (the one Tony posted above is for 32 bit x86.)
C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared files\Plugin\NewBlue

All the Newblue Art Effects, Motion and Paint Effects are in this directory and should be ready to be used by your new PD 12 installation. (As long as you did not uninstall them along with PD 11. This is the theory I am working with- I am still using PD 11 Ultimate Suite.)

Rob
PD 14 Ultimate Suite / Win10 Pro x64
1. Gigabyte Brix PRO / i7-4770R Intel Iris Pro 5200 / 16 GB / 1 TB SSD
2. Lenovo X230T / 8GB / Intel HD4000 + ViDock 4 Plus & ASUS Nvidia 660 Ti / Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZIZw3GPwKMo&feature=youtu.be
Reply
SoCalDude
Member Private Message Location: Sunny Southern California Joined: Aug 12, 2013 20:48 Messages: 60 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Just to be clear, guys;

Essential + Premium pack should have NB fx 1,2,3?
Is that amounting to be (only) 10 effects? (+ one for download/purchase)
I seem to have only Essential , though Premium pack is installed.

Reinstall?

With PD12, reinstalling Essential and Premium does not restore the NewBlue effects. Believe me--I just tried it. I'll probably just reinstall everything. I can do that, right?...meaning, my product key should work again, yes?
---
- PowerDirector 13 Ultimate
- DJI Phantom 4 Drone
- GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition (two of these)
- Kodak Zx5 HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera
- Canon PowerShot SD1300 (HD video & stills
- Canon EOS 40D DSLR w/lots of lenses--my favorite being a EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9682 Offline
[Post New]
I'll probably just reinstall everything. I can do that, right?...meaning, my product key should work again, yes?


Yes. As often as you need to.

I'm about to do a similar thing, with PD11 & PD12 to see if I can trick the thing into giving me the correct NewBlue effects.

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
SoCalDude
Member Private Message Location: Sunny Southern California Joined: Aug 12, 2013 20:48 Messages: 60 Offline
[Post New]
Quote:
Quote: Just to be clear, guys;

Essential + Premium pack should have NB fx 1,2,3?
Is that amounting to be (only) 10 effects? (+ one for download/purchase)
I seem to have only Essential , though Premium pack is installed.

Reinstall?

With PD12, reinstalling Essential and Premium does not restore the NewBlue effects. Believe me--I just tried it. I'll probably just reinstall everything. I can do that, right?...meaning, my product key should work again, yes?

So, I uninstalled all of PD12 and related items and reinstalled everything from scratch. My "Clicking-on-the-Fx-tab-after-adding-a-still-photo-to-the-timeline" error/crash appears to have gone away.

Having said that, prior to this reinstall, the error/crash did not happen every time--many times--but not every time.

Additionally, all my NewBlue effects (I, II, & III) are back!

So far, so good.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Sep 24. 2013 12:53

---
- PowerDirector 13 Ultimate
- DJI Phantom 4 Drone
- GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition (two of these)
- Kodak Zx5 HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera
- Canon PowerShot SD1300 (HD video & stills
- Canon EOS 40D DSLR w/lots of lenses--my favorite being a EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team