CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Resizing video to custom size in PD11
Reply to this topic
david445 [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Oct 30, 2012 05:28 Messages: 129 Offline
[Post New]
I have 1920x1080 videos and want to produce in MP4 or AVCHD and resize it to 1024x576 or similar always in 16:9 aspect ratio.

I can't find any option to do that in PD10 (there are only predefined sizes during production, and you can change size by dragging corners in preview, but without being able to specify a quantitative size) and I need to use an external program, does PD11 do that?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Apr 24. 2013 06:39

Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Hi david445 ,
Open PDR11/10
Video/project in tracks etc.
Go to Produce
Create a Custom Profile Template for mp4 and mts.
Close PDR 11/10.
Go to the Profile.ini file and edit to the frame size you want.
Save the Profile.ini
Open your project and look for your Custom Template in Produce.

For more information on Profile.ini editing please look up: http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/17939.page

Dafydd
Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Hi david445,
If this isn't a Produce or using the Grid Lines (PiP Designer/snap to reference) issue, then you need to carry out the following.
Create an image file template in a png format.

Please see attached file.

Place the image into your project as an underlay to be removed later.
Reduce all video to the specified frame size marked in the png.

Dafydd
 Filename
Re-size-video-underlay.png
[Disk]
 Description
Reducing the size of a video or image to a specific frame size
 Filesize
14 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
110 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Apr 24. 2013 07:44

Reply
david445 [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Oct 30, 2012 05:28 Messages: 129 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks Dafydd, I will try both and sure this will work.

But for Cyberlink: I can do the resizing from a freeware program with a proper interface and just two fields to fill, was not so difficult to implement and appear to me a really basic functionality!
Reply
david445 [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Oct 30, 2012 05:28 Messages: 129 Offline
[Post New]
Dear Dayfdd,

I just tried to follow your process and editing the Profile.ini.

The first time PD didn't find any custom profile at all. I was using WordPad for editing.

Second time recreate the custom profile and edited Profile using Notepad as in your tutorial, I was able to find the custom profile but during production PD give a hw acceleration error (never such a error before), disabled any menu etc and I need to kill it!

No way to use it, I think will continue to use the external free tool .

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Apr 24. 2013 10:21

Reply
david445 [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Oct 30, 2012 05:28 Messages: 129 Offline
[Post New]
Just to update: I finally manage to update a custom mpeg4 profile with a new resolution.

The strange is I didn't understand why it didn't work before.

Need to say the whole process it's a bit complex. During this resolution change I also test the substitution of a new audio to a mkv video encoded with AC3 audio. It need: conversion of mkv to AAC audio (using external tool), conversion of new audio also to AAC (using another external tool), split and substitution with new audio, creation of new profile, creation of new MPEG4 file with AAC audio.

Using a freeware I can simply load the video, add a new audio, produce the new mkv video with aac audio.

My suggestion for Cyberlink: add support for AC3 at least for import, give a better interface for resolution change.

About all the other editing features I'm really satisfied, it's fast powerful and easy to use, definitely a prosumer video editing tool, not oriented to simple tasks such as video format conversion.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at May 04. 2013 14:19

Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Just to update: I finally manage to update a custom mpeg4 profile with a new resolution.

The strange is I didn't understand why it didn't work before.

Need to say the whole process it's a bit complex. During this resolution change I also test the substitution of a new audio to a mkv video encoded with AC3 audio. It need: conversion of mkv to AAC audio (using external tool), conversion of new audio also to AAC (using another external tool), split and substitution with new audio, creation of new profile, creation of new MPEG4 file with AAC audio.

Using a freeware I can simply load the video, add a new audio, produce the new mkv video with aac audio.

My suggestion for Cyberlink: add support for AC3 at least for import, give a better interface for resolution change.

About all the other editing features I'm really satisfied, it's fast powerful and easy to use, definitely a prosumer video editing tool, not oriented to simple tasks such as video format conversion.


Hi david445,
Thank you for the follow up, good to read you managed in the end. Often an error occurs when the ampersand is missed off. A single "&" to start and two "&&" to close the instruction/template.
Your suggestion has been passed onto CyberLink.
Dafydd
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team