Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Is Six Months of Editing Down the Drain?
TraderJohn [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Aug 31, 2012 16:03 Messages: 20 Offline
[Post New]
I've been working on the production of over 50 videos for the last six months. Recently my computer crashed, the hard drive being on its last legs only being able to stay up 20 minutes at a time before I get the BSOD and it crashes again. So I bought a new computer with the same Win 7 OS.

All my video work output was stored on a external hard drive, so I thought that I would have no problem pulling up the finished PDS files with PD10 once I got the new computer set up. Unfortunately, when I opened the PDS video files, the narration along with the effects had disappeared. Obviously, I am disheartened by this possible loss of time and effort. When I open the PDS video, PD10 can't find the AVI, so I point it to where that file is located on the hard drive and that's all good but it doesn't ask about the narration portion or the effects. They were there in the PDS files before and were saved correctly.

So the PDS file opens with the video in the timeline with all the clip editing but none of the narration or effects.

I would greatly appreciate some incite in to how this might have happened and as to a possible solution as to how to restore these PDS files. All the wav files and effects have been untouched and are still on the external hard dive, so I have no idea as to why this is happening.

Thanks for taking the time to read all this. John
TraderJohn
Cranston
Senior Contributor Location: USA Joined: Aug 17, 2007 02:26 Messages: 1667 Offline
[Post New]
Hi TraderJohn,