CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Here's an intriguing conundrum
Reply to this topic
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
I was just completing my latest project and had burned a trial to a DVD+RW which played perfectly. However I decided one scene would look better if I zoomed in on something to highlight it so I re-edited and used the Zoom/Crop tool in Power Tools. I've never used this before but got it all set up ok then produced and burned another trial but when I played it I noticed the edited scene now looked a little jerky and so did the following one. The preceding and remaining scenes were all still ok.

When I tried advancing frame-by-frame in my player I discovered that in the two affected scenes it appeared that every second frame had been overwritten with a copy from its predecessor, i.e. two successive advances showed no movement then the next showed a big movement, the next none and so on, whereas in the unaffected scenes there was movement every frame as I would expect.

This must have been caused by the use of the crop/zoom tool, so the two questions are: what's causing it and why does it also affect the (unedited) following scene? There are dissolve transitions at the beginning and end of the edited scene so possibly the overlap has a bearing on the second question. As mentioned in another thread I'm using the MPEG-2 production with the default values direct from .m2ts sources.

Edit: I've just realised that Video Crop was inadvertently checked in the second scene even though I hadn't cropped or zoomed anything so that's why it was affected. Nevertheless it actually adds further proof that it is the Video Crop tool that's causing the effect.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Jun 26. 2012 14:50

Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Mike

An interesting observation, one of which I have noticed myself on a previous project.

After much 'fiddling' I realized I was wasting my time so my workaround was this:

1. Open a new Project and use only the clip that you want to Zoom in on with nothing else in you timeline

2. Produce this Zoomed clip - complete with Transitions as close to the original footage as possible.

3. Import this Produced clip and insert into timeline as a Produce 'zoomed' clip into your initial Project.

I know it's a bit of mucking around but PD's Power Tools do have there limitations.

Happy editing Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for your reply Neil. It's interesting you've observed the same effect. I'll give your procedure a try & report back. Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Ok, I've tried the following:-

Created a new project with just the clip that I want the effect applied to. Edited to give the desired effect and produced to a .m2ts file using the H.264 AVC format (I'm assuming that's the same as the camera .m2ts AVCHD files). Added that as a clip to the original project and produced using MPEG-2 DVD-HQ defaults. Authored and burned.

The result was exactly the same as before, movement only every second frame. Next I tried re-editing the clip by advancing the start- and end-points by one frame, just in case the fault was dependent on whether it started on an even or odd frame. Went throught the entire production again and the result was the same. Finally I tried leaving out the dissolve transitions at the start and end of the clip but that made no difference either.

I really can't see a way forward from here. The fault seems to be embedded in the Crop Video effect and there's no obvious workaround. It looks like I'll just have to forget it. Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Mike

Did the clip you produced have the same effect?

Or was it only when you added it to the timeline?

Either way there seems to be a possible keyframe issue.

Are your Enable Shadow Edit files unchecked (turned off) in Preferences?

To check the properties of your raw video clips, right click in media library and gobto properties - make a note of the settings.

Lastly, another way to Crop a video clip is to use just that clip in the timeline and 'grab' the corners to expand the clip.

Then Produce this expanded clip to the same profile as your orginal clips. Then add this expanded produced clip to your project. Note there might be a loss of resolution - this is normal.

Happy editing Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Neil,

I tried producing just the clip to the same profile as the main project - MPEG-2 DVD-HQ - then added that to the DVD as a separate movie with button to play it. The effect was the same.

On the timeline the clip plays correctly in the preview when stepping a frame at a time.

Shadow files are definitely OFF.

The properties of the original camcorder file and the edited zoomed/cropped clip, produced to H.264 AVC as a .m2ts, are as shown below. The original is on the left. PD has encoded the video to a slightly higher bitrate and the audio slightly lower. I notice that the original is Dolby 5.1 and the edited clip is Dolby stereo but I'm guessing that's not important.

The end result after producing to MPEG-2 is as if the Video Crop tool is de-interlacing the video by duplicating frames but, as I said above, this doesn't show up in the timeline preview. Simply checking the Video Crop checkbox introduces the problem without needing to click on the Crop Video button or perform any cropping or zooming actions. I don't know if this is relevant but as I check the box the size of the image in the Power Tools preview increases slightly.

I tried the other zooming method you suggested but the loss of resolution is unacceptable over the zoom range I want. I think I'll have to forget about trying to zoom and just cut to a resized still from a frame capture.



Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Mike

I'm at a loss as to why a single file Cropped video clip then Produced and then added to the project would behave in that manner.

Hopefully someone more learned in the forum has some other suggestion Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Well, I've completed the project and burned the final disc, having opted to forget the zoom and cut to a resized still. On reflection it appears that the problem is inherent in the Crop/Zoom tool. I guess at this point someone may suggest I update my build but anyone who has read my posts on other threads will know that I had serious issues after doing that and had to roll back.

On the positive side I made use of the video stabilizer for one clip and was most impressed with the result. The clip in question contained a number of strong verticals which probably helped but nevertheless the result was virtually perfect, so full marks to Cyberlink for that.
Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team