Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Power Director 5 or 6??
Patrick [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Nov 19, 2007 01:51 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
Good Afternoon,
This is my first attempt at trying to gain assistance regarding Power Director 5 and 6.
Explaination:
My systen crashed, I then had to clean and format the disk, then re-install Windows XP Pro. The problem with this is that it takes approximately three days of my time. My XP Pro Disc was purchased in 2004 and came with SP1. I also have the SP2 disk, but it still takes about three days going through all the update. That's the background.
When I reinstalled Power Director 5 I got a message on screen advising that" FFDSHOW" was installed did I want to continue , or a similar message.

I stopped and contacted Customer Support. Having gone through any number of variants, the end result was that I should Un- Insatll Version 5, and Install version 6.
Installed , or tried to install version 6, after going through the Un-Installl process of Version 5, to find that about half way throught the Install of Ver 6. Stopped and advised that I already had Power Director Installed.
Check, could fine nothing, Checked throught the Registry for any Power Director entry, Nothing. Did a Search using all possible variatione on power director. Found Nothing.
Customer Support advise that I must Re-Install Windows XP Pro.
I find thai all rather strange in that I can and have installed programs like Nero 8 since the above. No Problem.
It appears that if i try to Install Power Director, I can't.

Can anyone assist in this matter.
Sorry for being so long winded, but at least you now have the full picture.

My Sincere Thanks

Patrick