Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Create Disc - Crashes
SPICERPR0
Newbie Location: Ocean City, MD Joined: Jul 12, 2011 12:24 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
Create Disc crashing in PD10. Here are the events:

1. I click Create Disc and a window briefly appears, "Opening Create Disc page."



2. PD10 then crashes and another window appears, "PDR10.exe has stopped working." It requests I send an Error Report, which I do.



I searched this forum, but found no reference to this issue. I generally use another application for disc authoring, so this is the first time I have tried Create Disc since installing PD10 back in October. I never had trouble with Create Disc under PD9. Does anyone have a quick fix?

Here are some additional facts:
• Update 1129a is installed.
• Tried Hardware Acceleration Off and On.
• Latest driver 276.42 for NVidia Quadro FX 580 installed.
• No other issues with PD10.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 25. 2011 14:48

Bill Spicer
Spicer Pro, LLC, Ocean City, MD
Win7 Professional 64-bit, Xeon 2.80GHz (4 CPUs)
6144MB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
It takes a community to resolve editing software issues.
Carl312
Senior Contributor Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
A couple of guesses:

1. What Burner drive do you have, if it is external, is it connected when you try to start the Create Disk module?

2. Does Windows recognize the drive is a burner?

3. Uninstall/re-install Powerdirector.

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

SPICERPR0
Newbie Location: Ocean City, MD Joined: Jul 12, 2011 12:24 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
1. What Burner drive do you have, if it is external, is it connected when you try to start the Create Disk module?
Internal Drive 1: Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-218L
Internal Drive 2: Pioneer BD-RW BVR-206D

2. Does Windows recognize the drive is a burner?
Both drives are recognized by Windows, and function flawlessly under Nero and TMP AuthorWorks 4.

3. Uninstall/re-install Powerdirector.
Okay, and I will report back. Bill Spicer
Spicer Pro, LLC, Ocean City, MD
Win7 Professional 64-bit, Xeon 2.80GHz (4 CPUs)
6144MB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
It takes a community to resolve editing software issues.
Scott H. [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 15, 2009 09:39 Messages: 14 Offline
[Post New]
How about capturing what you get when you click on "what does this report contain?".

If you want to attach the text report to a post, we could take a quick look for clues. There are probably a couple of us software engineers that would be curious about it.
SPICERPR0
Newbie Location: Ocean City, MD Joined: Jul 12, 2011 12:24 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
Create Disc Crash - Tests Performed

1. I uninstalled and re-installed PD10. When I clicked Create Disc, it function perfectly as it should.
2. I then installed Patch 1129a. When I click Create Disc, PD10 crashed again and I received the window, "PDR10.exe has stopped working." Below is a capture of what I get when I click on "what does this report contain."



MiniDump.dmp file attached.

CrashRpt.xlm below:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16" ?>
- <CrashInformation VERSION="1.0">
<ID Value="4599CADD-3AD9-46D6-9945-7BBE922A58A3" />
<UUID Value="S-1-5-21-1396754102-1390067550-2595313064-1000" />
<SR Value="VDE111019-03" />
<ProductName Value="PowerDirector" />
<AppName Value="PDR10.exe" />
<AppVersion Value="10.0.0.1005" />
<Is64BitOS Value="1" />
<OSName Value="Windows 7 Professional Build 7601 Service Pack 1" />
<GDICount Value="1107" />
<VMSize Value="510 MB" />
<VGAName Value="NVIDIA Quadro FX 580" DriverVersion="8.17.12.7642" />
<ModName Value="MSVCR90.dll" />
<ModVersion Value="9.0.30729.6161" />
<ExceptionCode Value="0xC0000005" />
<Offset Value="0x0000000000018DB7" />
<SendLogUrl Value="http://boomerang.cyberlink.com/prog/util/boomerang/sendlog.jsp" />
</CrashInformation>


3. Repeated step one...same positive functionality.
4. Repeated step two...same crash.

So, there seems to be something going on with Patch 1129a and Create Disc, at least on my machine?

Thanks all!



 Filename
MiniDump.dmp
[Disk]
 Description
Mini Dump file for "Create Disc" crash under PD10, Patch 1129a.
 Filesize
183 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
460 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Dec 25. 2011 17:23

Bill Spicer
Spicer Pro, LLC, Ocean City, MD
Win7 Professional 64-bit, Xeon 2.80GHz (4 CPUs)
6144MB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
It takes a community to resolve editing software issues.
Carl312
Senior Contributor Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
At least you can install the original version, and it works.

Have you tried to download the 1129a patch again?

Sometimes, we get a bad download on the internet. It is amazing that most of the time our downloads work great. But every once in a while things do go wrong.

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Scott H. [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 15, 2009 09:39 Messages: 14 Offline
[Post New]
Carl312 and other senior people here have a lot of experience so please follow their insight.

I was hoping to see something that pointed to some driver software that was recognizable. Sorry that there was no really apparent pointer to something that you could try to do to work around the problem.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 26. 2011 03:27

SPICERPR0
Newbie Location: Ocean City, MD Joined: Jul 12, 2011 12:24 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
No luck yet...

I indeed downloaded a new copy of Patch 1129a. I noticed the file name added an "_R4" since my first download.

I repeated the uninstall, re-install and application of the new patch...but no change. Create Disc still crashes under Patch 1129a, but works fine without it.

I will continue to use my external disc authoring software, so I am not dead in the water. Perhaps a future patch will resolve the issue.

In the meantime, thank you Carl312 and Scott H for your suggestions and support. Bill Spicer
Spicer Pro, LLC, Ocean City, MD
Win7 Professional 64-bit, Xeon 2.80GHz (4 CPUs)
6144MB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
It takes a community to resolve editing software issues.
[Post New]
I have little use PD10 to write to the disk, here also does what you say, I saved the project file (producer, MPEG2) first, then ride the Disc Creat DVD from the (s) MPEG2 files.
I save the video using the MPEG2 profile PD10, to prevent the conversion of video to create the DVD.
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I noticed the file name added an "_R4" since my first download

Not sure why the R4 was added, the new R4 file and the original appear to be identical to me, a md5sum check shows same hash code which means they are identical. A Diff also shows the full expanded trees to be identical.

I guess you could install your 1005 version and then stop after 1012 patch if that corrected anything, keep in mind 1012 had a bug fix to address "correctly enters the Create Disc window".

If it functions, maybe try 1129a patch after 1012.

Jeff
SPICERPR0
Newbie Location: Ocean City, MD Joined: Jul 12, 2011 12:24 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
Jeff, I tried your suggestion. Here are the results:

1. Uninstalled and re-installed PD10 1005.
2. Attempted to install Patch 1012, but a warning came up saying I had to have PD10 installed (of course I do). So, there must be some residual registry entry from Patch 1129a that is creating the hiccup.
3. I re-installed patch 1129a. PD10 works fine, but crashes once again when calling up Create Disc.

In any case, when all of this started, I had already installed 1012, followed by 1129a. And, that also crashed when clicking Create Disc. So, we are really back where we started.

But not to worry, I will continue on using my other disc authoring software. Thanks for your help, but this sounds like it is way beyond all of us.
Bill Spicer
Spicer Pro, LLC, Ocean City, MD
Win7 Professional 64-bit, Xeon 2.80GHz (4 CPUs)
6144MB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
It takes a community to resolve editing software issues.
Carl312
Senior Contributor Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Jeff, I tried your suggestion. Here are the results:

1. Uninstalled and re-installed PD10 1005.
2. Attempted to install Patch 1012, but a warning came up saying I had to have PD10 installed (of course I do). So, there must be some residual registry entry from Patch 1129a that is creating the hiccup.
3. I re-installed patch 1129a. PD10 works fine, but crashes once again when calling up Create Disc.

In any case, when all of this started, I had already installed 1012, followed by 1129a. And, that also crashed when clicking Create Disc. So, we are really back where we started.

But not to worry, I will continue on using my other disc authoring software. Thanks for your help, but this sounds like it is way beyond all of us.

If you are having trouble with installing some parts of PD, you might give the CLcleaner a try.

This software does not remove anything, it just changes or removes some registry keys.

http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/15688.page

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

nayan007 [Avatar]
Member Joined: Dec 05, 2011 22:50 Messages: 52 Offline
[Post New]
Hi carl312,

The name of the software is " CCleaner " and not " CLcleaner "
!! Love Cyber-Link !!
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi carl312,

The name of the software is " CCleaner " and not " CLcleaner "

CCleaner is the former Crap Cleaner developed by Piriform

CLcleaner is the CyberLink cleaner as Carl312 pointed out and provided the download link for the file CLCleaner2-PowerDirector_7.0-9.0.rar

Jeff
jerrys
Senior Contributor Location: New Britain, CT, USA (between New York and Boston) Joined: Feb 10, 2010 21:36 Messages: 1038 Offline
[Post New]
Quote:
<ProductName Value="PowerDirector" />
<AppName Value="PDR10.exe" />
<AppVersion Value="10.0.0.1005" />


The value for AppVersion seems odd, if you are running the 1129a patch.

That might just mean that CyberLink forgot to update whatever that is coming from; but just on the off chance that there is something amiss, does the program say it is the version you expect it to be? Jerry Schwartz
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
I thought perhaps too but after doing some snooping I think AppVersion="10.0.0.1005" value is the base product that is installed, SR Value="VDE111019-03" is the patch installed. VDE110926-01 is 1012, VDE111019-03 is 1129a. Some I know got a base install of 1012 vs the first "official" release version of 1005.

Unfortunately history with PD has shown that applying the same patch to two different base install versions does not always yield the same end product.

Jeff
jerrys
Senior Contributor Location: New Britain, CT, USA (between New York and Boston) Joined: Feb 10, 2010 21:36 Messages: 1038 Offline
[Post New]
Oh, well -- it was just a WAG.

I certainly hope the error report has the current patch level in it somewhere, or CL is going to waste an awful lot of time. Jerry Schwartz
Carl312
Senior Contributor Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi carl312,

The name of the software is " CCleaner " and not " CLcleaner "

Yes, there is a software named CCleaner, it is not the software written by the Cyberlink team to fix the problem of not being able to install some Cyberlink software if there had been a previous installation.

Go read what Dafydd wrote here:
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/15688.page

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

SPICERPR0
Newbie Location: Ocean City, MD Joined: Jul 12, 2011 12:24 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
Where can one find CLCleaner (the CyberLink version for PD10)? Previous posts seem to only reference Version 9.

BTW, I too noticed that my CrashRpt.xlm report indicated Build 1005.

<AppVersion Value="10.0.0.1005" />

But as you can see, I truly have Patch 1129a installed.


Bill Spicer
Spicer Pro, LLC, Ocean City, MD
Win7 Professional 64-bit, Xeon 2.80GHz (4 CPUs)
6144MB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
It takes a community to resolve editing software issues.
Carl312
Senior Contributor Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Where can one find CLCleaner (the CyberLink version for PD10)? Previous posts seem to only reference Version 9.

The CLcleaner at the above link should work, I do not think Dafydd has re-written the infomation.

The latest CLcleaner for PD9 should work just as well on PD 10.

One way to find out is download and run it.

If you can then install Powerdirector where you could not before, it worked.


Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team