CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Powerdirector blocks internet access
Reply to this topic
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Hello everyone, this is my first visit to this forum. I hope someone may be able to explain an issue I encountered recently. I was in an editing session and wanted to check something out from the web so launched my browser. Whatever URL I chose the browser just hung indefinitely, failing to load any pages. I thought my internet connection had gone down but once I'd quit from Powerdirector everything was back to normal. This was repeatable, not a one-off.

My system is, briefly, Intel Core i5 3.3GHz, 8GB RAM, Asus Nvidia GT440, 2 x 1TB WD10EARS drives, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit.

I'd be most grateful for any thoughts on this issue. Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6077 Offline
[Post New]
What version/build of PD? HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
I'd have though the version was obvious from the part of the forum I'm posting in

It's Powerdirector 64Ultra 9.0.0.2330 Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6077 Offline
[Post New]
It's really the build I was after. There is a newer build/patch, maybe give that a shot. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Ok. Thanks for responding so quickly. Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9088 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I'd have though the version was obvious from the part of the forum I'm posting in

It's Powerdirector 64Ultra 9.0.0.2330

Not that I think your older version of PD would be your problem.

There is a newer build 3305.

http://www.cyberlink.com/downloads/support/powerdirector/patches_en_US.html
Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks also to you Carl. I've downloaded the patch and will install in due course.

Interestingly, before installing the patch I thought I'd try replicating the problem again and this time Powerdirector and the browser co-existed no problem, so I can't imagine what was happening the other day. I've tried launching the browser first and Powerdirector first, also doing a few editing operations, and today it seems fine.

I did wonder if there could have been any kind of conflict with Powedirector's DirectorZone download functions. I haven't tried to use them yet so don't know how they operate.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 24. 2011 10:06

Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 696 Offline
[Post New]
Update : I just installed the build 3305 patch and that was a big mistake!! The MPEG-2 I just compiled (produced) from my latest project showed the classic signs of frame order reversal when I played it back in Media Player.

To check, I recompiled an older project into another folder then compared the old MPEG with the new one and sure enough the older one was ok and the new one frame-reversed. In all cases I was using the default MPEG-2 profile.

I have had to de-install Powerdirector and re-install the earlier build from the CD which has cured the problem. On the basis of this experience I shall not be performing any more updates.

Edit : I've started a new thread about this as it will probably go un-noticed here.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 26. 2011 11:59

Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB, 1 x Seagate ST1000DM010 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, PD 9 Ultra 64, PD 13 Ultimate 64
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team