CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD12 and AMD 8 core CPU will it work ?
Reply to this topic
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 5095 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Jeff et al, assuming a new widow license for the new computer , how does one transfer everything to the new computer?


Eugene, everyone probably has a there own view on this. Mine is, don't move everything as you desire. Moving applications, like PD, is a good recipe to issues on a brand new system. I'd reinstall your applications on the new box from install backups. Many apps like PD, during install, register dll's, make registry modifications (PD makes many of them),..., these are hard to capture with a simple backup utility. Registry entries are scattered in ~four different system files. Some installs capture your unique MAC address for authenticity(obviously you have a new MAC address on the new computer), CL captures something as many claim a internet connection required initially, with PD many instances in the forums of what appears as number of installs being reached, work with support to reset, didn't activate h.264, MPEG and other codecs within 30days.... and the like. These PD specific items often stored in windows registry entries.

Microsoft had a application mover, which would attempt to gather all application related bytes and package them to install on a different computer, this app is no longer supported, I've used several app movers over the years and wouldn't really recommend anything, more a niche tool for specific case vs what I would do on a brand new platform for hassle free video editing with PD.

I'd use the windows utility to transfer my user files and settings and go through the install processes for applications like PD from your install backups. Simple overview of windows transfer utility. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/help/videos/transferring-files-and-settings-from-another-pc#tab=desktop

Jeff
Reply
jerrys
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Britain, CT, USA (between New York and Boston) Joined: Feb 10, 2010 21:36 Messages: 1024 Offline
[Post New]
By the way, whenever I move to a new computer I always (if possible) install the hard drive from the old computer into the new one as an extra drive. I then have instant access to any data files or whatever from the old machine, while running the machine in all its newborn glory.

If you don't have a slot for it, you can buy a USB adaptor for small money. Jerry Schwartz
Reply
Julien Pierre [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Apr 14, 2011 01:34 Messages: 476 Offline
[Post New]
I have been using an AMD FX-8350 8-core for the last year with PD10, PD11 and now PD12 . There is no issue.
I had an FX-8120 before .

There is no Quicksync, indeed.

This CPU does run run hot, especially if overclocked. I am overclocking my FX-8350 to 4.6 GHz using a Noctua NH-D14 . No watercooling for me, I don't want a water leak on my other components.
MSI X99A Raider
Intel i7-5820k @ 4.4 GHz
32GB DDR4 RAM
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 960 4GB
480 GB Patriot Ignite SSD (boot)
2 x 480 GB Sandisk Ultra II SSD (striped)
6 x 1 TB Samsung 860 SSD (striped)

2 x LG 32UD59-B 32" 4K
Asus PB238 23" HD (portrait)
Reply
GGRussell [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Jan 08, 2012 11:38 Messages: 709 Offline
[Post New]
I would say never move anything except DATA like PD project files, video, music, etc. May take a lot of time to reinstall apps, but worth it to avoid complications.

QuickSync is an Intel feature and only works with apps that have been programed with that code. PD is the only video app I have that supposedly does.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 22. 2013 21:44

Intel i7 4770k, 16GB, GTX1060 3GB, Two 240GB SSD, 4TB HD, Sony HDR-TD20V 3D camcorder, Sony SLT-A65VK for still images, Windows 10 Pro, 64bit
Gary Russell -- TN USA
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team