CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Current drive...
Reply to this topic
crjensen1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Denmark Joined: May 18, 2011 12:41 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
When I try to burn my movie, the program does not seem to be able to "see" my DVD burner drive.
On the "final output" screen the "current drive" field is blank.

I am on a Windows 7 computer.
My DVD drive is an Optiarc AD-7170A RW
I also have Nero installed.

I have tried to update the Optiarc driver.

Why can't PowerDirector 9 see my DVD burner drive when my other programs can?
Reply
James1
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada Joined: Jun 10, 2010 16:20 Messages: 1783 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
Is your drive a DVD drive or just a CD drive? You may have to give it burning rights through Windows also. I have two drives and I have to give them burning rights.
Jim Intel i7-2600@3.4Gz Geforce 560ti-1GB Graphic accelerator, windows 7 Premium 12GB memory

Visit GranPapa64's channel for your YouTube experience of the day!
Reply
crjensen1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Denmark Joined: May 18, 2011 12:41 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
It is a DVD drive, and I have previously burned DVDs - both R and RW in other programs.
How do I give it burning rights, if that's the problem? I have Windows 7.
Thank you for all your help!
Reply
garioch7
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Port Hood, Nova Scotia, Canada Joined: Feb 07, 2011 06:45 Messages: 851 Offline
[Post New]
Perhaps a stupid comment, and if so, please forgive me, but do you have a blank DVD in the drive BEFORE you go to the Create Disk module? Wait for Windows 7 to recognize it and ask you what you want to do; then, cancel that out, and then click on the Create DisK module. Sometimes PD9 can be fussy.

If this is useless advice or in any way insulting, please accept my apologies. We have all levels of users posting in these forums, and sometimes the solution is a very simple one.

Have a great day.

Regards,
-Phil Windows 10 Pro x64
Dell XPS 8930
Intel CoreT i7 (4.6 GHz)
32 GB DDR4-2666 RAM
1 TB PCIe -x4 SSD
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060
PD14 Ultimate x64, 4207
CD4 Ultra and AD6 Ultra
Bleeping Computer Malware Response Instructor
Reply
James1
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada Joined: Jun 10, 2010 16:20 Messages: 1783 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
Open my computer and select the drive and right click go to properties, and in look for "Recording" then give it it rights.
Jim Intel i7-2600@3.4Gz Geforce 560ti-1GB Graphic accelerator, windows 7 Premium 12GB memory

Visit GranPapa64's channel for your YouTube experience of the day!
Reply
crjensen1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Denmark Joined: May 18, 2011 12:41 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Very strange.
The drive is okay, it was already given burning rights.
And yes, I have inserted the blank DVD before I clicked 'Create Disc' :

Another funny thing: In 'my computer' it says that I have two drives. My DVD drive (D) AND a Blu-Ray Drive (E).
I do not have a Blu-Ray Drive!

This is the list when I click 'hardware' under 'my computer':

DTSoftBusCd00 - DVD/CD-Rom drive
Optiarc DVD RW AD-7170A ATA Device - DVD/CD-Rom drive

I have burned DVD's with success with other programs, but PowerDirector 9 won't let me...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at May 18. 2011 16:23

Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4412 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Another funny thing: In 'my computer' it says that I have two drives. My DVD drive (D) AND a Blu-Ray Drive (E).
I do not have a Blu-Ray Drive!


Maybe you don't have a physical drive, however, many virtual drive programs create a virtual drive that would appear as you describe. Alcohol 120% and Daemon Tools are examples. Are you using something similar?

Jeff
Reply
crjensen1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Denmark Joined: May 18, 2011 12:41 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Yes I have Daemon Tools installed. I have tried to uninstall and run PowerProducer again, but same result...
Reply
Robert2 S
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Apr 22, 2009 05:57 Messages: 1461 Offline
[Post New]
I have seen problems reported when Daemon Tools in on a system and fixed when Daemon Tools is un-installed. My youtube channel====> http://www.youtube.com/user/relate2?feature=mhsn
Reply
crjensen1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Denmark Joined: May 18, 2011 12:41 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
I uninstalled Daemon Tools and that did it! PowerDirector can now see the DVD drive and I can burn my movies.
Thank you for all your help!
Reply
Robert2 S
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Apr 22, 2009 05:57 Messages: 1461 Offline
[Post New]
Great news glad it helped. My youtube channel====> http://www.youtube.com/user/relate2?feature=mhsn
Reply
GMAGDNA [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: May 25, 2011 23:44 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
What worked for me was to go to Device Manager and Disable the virtual drives created by DAEMON Tools. Shouldn't need to uninstall the app.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team