Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD9 - How to do this "stutter" video effect?
Dilbert36 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 03, 2011 14:18 Messages: 12 Offline
[Post New]
I have seen this effect done recently on many music videos. It is kind of hard to describe, but I like to call it...a video "stutter" where the object in the video seems to stutter back and forth quickly for a few seconds, like a robot short circuiting.

Is there an easy (or not so easy) way to accomplish it in PD9. Forgive me but I am fairly new to PD9 and am still learning. I thought I would ask before trying, but my initial hunch would be to make several quick splits in the video clip and duplicate each one and then reverse every other clip. I would appreciate any other suggestions. Attached is a short sample clip of the effect I am trying to reproduce
 Filename
Stutter Video Effect.mp4
[Disk]
 Description
example "stutter" video effect
 Filesize
7468 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
764 time(s)
James Dotson
Senior Contributor Location: Tennessee Joined: Aug 24, 2009 20:40 Messages: 3066 Offline
[Post New]
Split the clip where you want the stutter to start. Click the clip to highlight it. Right-click and select copy. Paste it into the timeline several time. Using Power tools, reverse every other clip. For a fast stutter like the sample, the clip only needs to be a few frames long (5 to 10, maybe). You will have to experiment to get the effect that you want. __________________________________
CORNBLOSSOM
Bubba in TX
Senior Contributor Location: Central Texas Joined: Dec 12, 2009 21:32 Messages: 1332 Offline
[Post New]
Jaime...

Your idea works pretty good.

Filename
stutter.wmv
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize