CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
I need some help with Sony HDR-CX360VE camcorder...
Reply to this topic
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
lately I bought myself a new camcorder Sony and could you give me some advices how to choose the best settings for producing.
1. In camcorder I have Resolution of Component 1080p/576i, Frame Rate 50p and Audio Mode 2ch Stereo. Have I here done right?
2. Does for AVCHD will be the best format also AVC H.264?
3. If yes, what would be the best Custom Profile for my camcorder? At the moment I have such kind of Profile, should I change there someting?
Thanks for any feedback!
Just in case technical information too:
http://www.sony.lv/product/cam-high-definition-on-memory-stick/hdr-cx360ve#pageType=TechnicalSpecs

PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Cap'n Kevin
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Chebeague Island, Maine Joined: Dec 26, 2008 20:22 Messages: 2011 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Hiielind,

If you want to produce a video file that has the same specs as your original then you might want to post a MediaInfo file so we could see what your original video specs are.

On my Sony...I record in 5.1 surround sound....so in my Custom h.264 profile I have it set to 5.1 surround sound. Also...the bit rate of my Sony camera is around 17 Mbps...so I set that value in my bitrate field of the profile. Yours is currently set at 15,500. The bitrate of your original video is most likely higher than mine.

Once you have your Custom profile created....you can check to see if you have it set properly by placing an original clip on the timeline and then select View SVRT information. Select the correct TV format from the drop down list....select the h.264 from the production format drop down list....then finally select your newly created custom profile that you created from the drop down list. If you have it set correctly...you should get a GREEN indication showing you have everything set like your original. If you don't get green, then you need to find the difference and change it in the profile setup.

Make sense? It barely does to me!!!!

Kevin
Check out PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials and more! Over 5,000 Subscribers.
Reply
Cap'n Kevin
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Chebeague Island, Maine Joined: Dec 26, 2008 20:22 Messages: 2011 Offline
[Post New]
Hi again,

I got your information about your original video specs in your PM.

It looks like you need to set the bit rate in your custom profile to the maximum 22,500,which is still less than your original of 28 Mbps, but it should be very watchable. Your current value is at 15,500, so you should bump that up as high as it can go.

You can drop your audio setting to 256 Kbps from the 384Kbps.

It is not clear from what you gave me whether your video is interlaced or progressive. I am assuming that it is progressive, so in that case your setting is correct.

I think that was all I could find that needed changing. But you know my eyesight isn't what it used to be!! Ahahahahah!

Kevin
Check out PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials and more! Over 5,000 Subscribers.
Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks Kevin! PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Quote:

It looks like you need to set the bit rate in your custom profile to the maximum 22,500,which is still less than your original of 28 Mbps,

Kevin


Maybe is even better to use WMV Custom Profile (not AVC), there I could choose more than 22,500?! PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Cap'n Kevin
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Chebeague Island, Maine Joined: Dec 26, 2008 20:22 Messages: 2011 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Hielind,

It would be worth trying....I do seem to remember some talk about getting the bit rate higher in the profile somehow in the h.264 file type. Maybe it was a registry setting change or something....I don't recall.

Good luck!!

Enjoy that camera!!

Kevin
Check out PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials and more! Over 5,000 Subscribers.
Reply
Andrew - Wales, UK
Contributor Private Message Location: Wales, UK Joined: Jan 27, 2009 19:16 Messages: 545 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,

Very interesting to see that Sony has now joined Panasonic in offering 1920x1080 50p 28mbps shooting, as well as 25p and 50i (about time for 25p).

Interestingly enough, Canon's new £1400 'flagship' Legria HF G10 doesn't offer above 1920x1080 24mbps at 25p and 50i. I bet they will next year!

http://www.canon.co.uk/For_Home/Product_Finder/Camcorders/High_Definition_HD/LEGRIA_HF_G10/index.aspx?specs=1

I'd love to be able to shoot in 1920x1080 50p 28mbps but then authoring a blu-ray disc with footage of this jaw dropping capability is not currently possible.

In addition, non-standard developments such as 1080-line 50p/60p recording mode employed in some Panasonic camcorders, are neither AVCHD- nor Blu-ray compliant.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AVCHD

I hope this changes!

Cheers,

Andrew Alienware Aurora ALX R4 - Intel i7-4820 4.2 GHz - 32GB DDR3 RAM - Crucial 512GB SSD - 1TB Seagate HDD - 3TB WD Green HDD - 4TB WD Green HDD - MSI NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB

Sony HDR-PJ810 and HDR-PJ530
Reply
Robert2 S
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Apr 22, 2009 05:57 Messages: 1461 Offline
[Post New]
Quote:

In addition, non-standard developments such as 1080-line 50p/60p recording mode employed in some Panasonic camcorders, are neither AVCHD- nor Blu-ray compliant.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AVCHD

I hope this changes!

Cheers,

Andrew


Interesting information Andrew, and they wonder why video editing programs have problems when the camera makers can't even comply with the regulated formats.

With Sony bringing out their new camera with 28Mbps bit rate are we in for a similar marketing race we have with the megapixel race....my cameras bit rate is higher than yours....God help us all we will end up needing a Cray Super Computer to edit our videos. My youtube channel====> http://www.youtube.com/user/relate2?feature=mhsn
Reply
Andrew - Wales, UK
Contributor Private Message Location: Wales, UK Joined: Jan 27, 2009 19:16 Messages: 545 Offline
[Post New]
Haha! Exactly! I think it depends on what you choose to do with your footage. Lots of people tend to create files in 'Produce' and then stream them to their TV, in which case 28mbps footage is fine with the odd tweak of a profile in 'Produce'.

All my stuff ends up on blu-ray and DVD so, as discussed earlier, I shoot at a maximum of 1920x1080 24mbps 25p and use SVRT to author my blu-ray discs.

Cheers,

Andrew

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Mar 27. 2011 10:31

Alienware Aurora ALX R4 - Intel i7-4820 4.2 GHz - 32GB DDR3 RAM - Crucial 512GB SSD - 1TB Seagate HDD - 3TB WD Green HDD - 4TB WD Green HDD - MSI NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB

Sony HDR-PJ810 and HDR-PJ530
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team