CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Can I capture multiple audio tracks as I capture video?
Reply to this topic
FrancoisT [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Apr 26, 2010 15:03 Messages: 86 Offline
[Post New]
This is what I am trying to do. I am trying to record a practice session where I have an instrument sound, a microphone, and played back music. I have an external audio interface that can handle 8 inputs. I'd like to keep the different audio tracks separate and then adjust their levels after the capture is completed. I'd prefer to record the various audio tracks with the video capture so there won't be the hassle of synchronizing them. I have PowerDirector 8Ultra. Thanks for any info.
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi FrancoisT

Welcome to the forum

PD8 has up to four audio tracks - near the 'magicians hat' there is a white rectangle with stars in it - click on that to open the Track Manager - however you can use a 'workaround' to get another nine!

To have another nine audio tracks do the following:

1. Drop one audio file into an audio track

2. Go to produce and produce as an MPEG-2 file.

3. Use the PIP tracks to add these 'music' MPEG files

Hope this helps

Good luck

Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
FrancoisT [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Apr 26, 2010 15:03 Messages: 86 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi FrancoisT

Welcome to the forum

PD8 has up to four audio tracks - near the 'magicians hat' there is a white rectangle with stars in it - click on that to open the Track Manager - however you can use a 'workaround' to get another nine!

To have another nine audio tracks do the following:

1. Drop one audio file into an audio track

2. Go to produce and produce as an MPEG-2 file.

3. Use the PIP tracks to add these 'music' MPEG files

Hope this helps

Good luck



Thanks. Is this for capture? I need to record at least 3 audio tracks from 3 different sources as the the video is recorded.
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi

No this is not from capture.

This is post capture.

If your audio sources are from three different devices PD can 'mix' them together.

However it does not have the function to remove parts from a single audio track Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
FrancoisT [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Apr 26, 2010 15:03 Messages: 86 Offline
[Post New]
Well, that's my question. By the way I'm not trying " to remove parts from a single audio track". I simply have at least 3 different sound sources that I want to keep separate as the video is captured. If anyone else knows if PD Ultra could do this let me know. I'd also be interested in hearing about other,hopefully inexpensive, software that can do this. Thanks
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5905 Offline
[Post New]
You can run PD8 and capture 1 line with that, and the built in recorder on the computer can capture another line, maybe Audacity to record the 3rd. Then bring those 3 files later into PD8 audio tracks. Or first maybe use Audacity to master the 3, THEN bring that 1 file into the timeline. I would like to follow your findings. I just did my 1st 2-camera shoot and the syncing was a challenge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 11. 2011 17:58

My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
If you have three different audio files the answer is yes it can be done.

Insert audio files into PD, make your adjustments and produce as an MPEG2, then import this file into PD and when it is in the media library right click file and 'extract audio'. This saves it as an audio WAV file.

Good luck Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
Kevin R.
Contributor Private Message Location: South Austin Texas U.S.A. Joined: Aug 17, 2010 15:58 Messages: 306 Offline
[Post New]
It sounds to me like this is a capture issue itself, not a PD8 issue as it were. PD8 can edit the video and sound tracks, but I would be leary of using it via a pc to get decent audio capture, much less 3 separate audios. IMO your best bet is to capture them with an audio device or use a mixer to capture and separate 3 different sources, then bring them into PD8 and edit as you want.

Just my opinion!
Cheers!
Kevin R. Saving the world, one goofy video at a time.
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5905 Offline
[Post New]
Funny, that was my 1st response, and I edited it out.
I was just looking at audio capture for live music videos, but not plugging into the sound board. Recently I did a video shoot using 2 cameras and the video was fine, but the sound suffered from the din of the casino machines and throngs of people. By the way, a 2 camera shoot is FUN, and when cutting back and forth, it looks really pro. My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
FrancoisT [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Apr 26, 2010 15:03 Messages: 86 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for the replies. I know how and can capture multiple tracks and have some Samplitude software which works with an external audio interface. But the one thing I hope to avoid is trying to exactly sync the sound made in one program with the video made in another. In addition to adding that much more hassle I've never had much success doing it when I tried in the past. I was just hoping PowerDirector had this feature of being able to specify multiple sound sources in different tracks in the Capture phase (not the production phase). I'm sure there are other programs out there but I'm not yet aware of a decent, inexpensive one.
Reply
[Post New]
i've been using a digital multitrack recorder for all my audio, then export the individual tracks to my pc. then when i add them to pd8 they'll already be syncronized since they were originally recorded that way. in my experience this is better for the audio quality too, as you get the deeper hands on approach to equalization/mastering etc. Windows 7-64bit
amd Athlon II x2 250 processor 3.00 ghz
5gb ram
ati radeon hd 4200
media suite 9ultra
power director 8 ultra 8.00.3327
Reply
FrancoisT [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Apr 26, 2010 15:03 Messages: 86 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: i've been using a digital multitrack recorder for all my audio, then export the individual tracks to my pc. then when i add them to pd8 they'll already be syncronized since they were originally recorded that way. in my experience this is better for the audio quality too, as you get the deeper hands on approach to equalization/mastering etc.

I appreciate the reply. I've tried doing that with live performances before and even though the tracks recorded on the multitrack are in sync with themselves I never felt like I could be sure the starting point of the video synced 100% accurately to the starting point of the audio. I can record multitrack on the PC but would appreciate knowing of an affordable consumer software program that allows at least 3 or 4 audio tracks to be recorded with the video capture. Thanks.
Reply
[Post New]
gotcha, i'm sure those programs are out there, the affordable part might be a problem though. good luck. and i wouldnt mind knowing if you find a good one, so please share the info if you do Windows 7-64bit
amd Athlon II x2 250 processor 3.00 ghz
5gb ram
ati radeon hd 4200
media suite 9ultra
power director 8 ultra 8.00.3327
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team