CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
When porducing a part of a project, the resulting clip is longer than the section to be produced
Reply to this topic
HalCon
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Charlottetown, PEI Joined: Mar 01, 2008 10:36 Messages: 718 Offline
[Post New]
Greetings and Happy New Year,

I have been working on inlaying videos in various shapes created in a photo editing software. It is working well, but I have encountered a problem with producing a part of the project within the project. All raw video is .mts. Producing to AVCHD 1920X1080.

The background video has a duration of 38:16. The section I produced was a clip with a duration of 23:01 and a .png file - duration 23:01. I have 8 video tracks activated, using 4 in the first test and 6 in the second test. All tracks except the two to be produced are set to Disabled (red X). The file produces with only one minor (major) problem. The output file has a duration of 38:15 in the first test and 1:07:15 in the second.

In the second test I have the first produced clip in the #2 track which extended the overall length of the project.

Can anyone else replicate this? The basic set-up is in the attached file.

Thanks

Hal
[Thumb - produceduration.png]
 Filename
produceduration.png
[Disk]
 Description
Producing only a portion of project
 Filesize
412 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
210 time(s)
OS - Win11 Pro, Alienware R13, CPU - Intel Core I7-12700KF 12 CPUs), 16g DDR5 4400 RAM, Video - Geeforce RTX 3080ti 12g, PD11 & PD365
My YouTube
Reply
[Post New]
Yes, this is a known issue. I believe it even came up and was reported in Beta testing.
When producing, the "Red X" portions will not be visible, but PD9 will continue rendering what "is" there.
The "RedX" disables from viewing when editing, but in Produce, PD still recognizes that something (disabled or not), is there, so PD Produces it. Click here PDtoots for a collection of PowerDirector Tutorials and Tips
Reply
James Dotson
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Tennessee Joined: Aug 24, 2009 20:40 Messages: 3066 Offline
[Post New]
I could be wrong about this, but I believe it was pointed out in beta testing that the video is produced full length, even when a longer track has been disabled. PD seems to treat the disabled tracks as if they are still there, but darkened.

EDIT: Thanks, Cranston. I guess I wasn't wrong about it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 30. 2010 22:30

__________________________________
CORNBLOSSOM
Reply
HalCon
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Charlottetown, PEI Joined: Mar 01, 2008 10:36 Messages: 718 Offline
[Post New]
Thank-you gentlemen, I appreciate the quick answer.

It is not a big problem once you know about it. The workaround is you have to split the new clip to what you want. Would be nice if they fixed it though, would save going through the clip to find the split location.

I am almost certain that PD only produced the tracks that were active, it did not produce any of the disabled tracks. When I replaced the originals with the new clip and resized to fit the frame it played like I was hoping for, but there was this black rectangle in the corner where the clip was after the 23:01. After splitting the new clip I now have the effect that I was working on.

Hal OS - Win11 Pro, Alienware R13, CPU - Intel Core I7-12700KF 12 CPUs), 16g DDR5 4400 RAM, Video - Geeforce RTX 3080ti 12g, PD11 & PD365
My YouTube
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team