Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Better Resolution Tweeks
Argonaut [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jul 16, 2012 06:43 Messages: 37 Offline
[Post New]
I've been working with Powerdirector version 21.3.2727.0 for awhile. It is a powerful program, but there is quite a learning curv to master it's many capabilities. I'm not a professional. I'm just tryin g to put together a video tribute to my mother to share with family and friends. She passed away at 107, so I have lots of material to work with; jpegs, video, audio. So far, I am not pleased with the resolution / clarity of the end result when I export to create an MP4 from the project timeline. Seems like a lot of definition is lost. Am I missing some simple tweaks that will produce a better, higher resolution mp4 for burning to a DVD? Thanks.
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6464 Offline
[Post New]
Sorry about your mother. She lived a long life. The DVD maximum resolution is 720 x 480/ 60i or 640 x 480 from mp4, whereas your computer monitor or tv resolution is at least 1920 x 1080/ 60p. That is 3X higher in horizontal resolution. That is why the DVD doesn’t look sharp.

There are many options. I would produce those on my timeline to 4K. And put the mp4 file on a small usb flash drive to distribute to family members to view on a modern 4K TV or on their pc. If any of the family members have a Blu-ray player, you have the option of creating a BD or AVCHD to distribute to them in 1080/60p or 720/60p on disc or on a usb flash drive. The sharpness is better than what is on a DVD.
Argonaut [Avatar]
[Post New]