CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD8 selects the wrong Disc menu template
Reply to this topic
Danilowitsch [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 19, 2006 01:10 Messages: 23 Offline
[Post New]
I tried already many things to solve this problem. Technical support was not able to help me. First problem: There are only very few disc menu templates visible as pictures. I think there should be about 40 templates. But I can see only 10. The other templates are showing as black boxes with numbers. I I try to choose one of these black boxes, PD8 is crashing.
I tried to change form 16:9 to 4:3 project. This has no effect.
I did uninstall PD8 and made a new installation. First the PD8 program and then the content pack. This doesen't solve the problem.
Second problem: If I am selecting one of these visible menu templates, PD8 is taking the wrong one. For example: I am selecting disc menu template no. 3. PD8 is taking template no 4. A completely different template. Does anybody have an idea, what I can try? I am almost becomming mad!
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9730 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Daniel -

I use PD8 Ultra & there are 9 templates + a no menu option. Of course, you can download others from DirectorZone or make your own.

I don't have any black boxes in the menu templates library - nor does PD crash when I select one. That's also the first time I've heard it reported (that I remember) that PD applies the wrong menu after a selection has been made.

Obviously there's something terribly wrong with how PD is working on your system... & it's hard to think what it might be.

When you uninstalled PD, did you do a registry clean up too? http://directorzone.cyberlink.com/posts/list/1801.page

Cheers - Tony


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Danilowitsch [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 19, 2006 01:10 Messages: 23 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Tony.
Yes, I made a registry clean up after uninstalling PD8.
First I uninstalled PD8.
Next I did reboot my PC.
After that, I cleaned up the registry with TuneUp Utilities.
I did reboot my PC.
Then I installed again PD8, first the program file and then the content pack.
This doesen't solve the problem.
I also tried to download menu templates from directorzone.
After clicking on these files, it says "successfully installed". But after restarting PD8, the imported files don't show up.

I only got strange advice from cyberlink support. First I should try 16bit Display color settings. And then to send s DxDiag file. After that, the answered that DxDiag shows 16bit color display. I should increase to the maximum.

Is it possible that my first fully downloaded version from August 2009 is corrupt? I always installed the new patches.
Reply
Jeff [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: May 10, 2010 23:06 Messages: 10 Offline
[Post New]
I have similar problems where a downloaded template (PIP) does not entirely load into the displayed library at first.
If I access the new file through the Windows directories, I will eventually see it show up in the display library.....along with ALL the other ones I have downloaded and thought they had mysteriously vanished
Reply
Danilowitsch [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 19, 2006 01:10 Messages: 23 Offline
[Post New]
I just solved my problem. There were still some menu templates from the previous powerdirector 6 installed on my PC. These templates were not removed when I installed PD8. I think, these menu templates are not compatible with PD8. These template packages can be uninstalled like a normal software.
There was also a folder named "Shared Files" in the directory C:\program files\cyberlink. This "Shared files" folder was installed in 2006. I uninstalled all cyberlink software, deleted the entire cyberlink folder C:\program files\cyberlink and a cleaned up the registry, rebooted the PC and made a completely new installation of PD8. Now, everything works fine.
Reply
Jeff [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: May 10, 2010 23:06 Messages: 10 Offline
[Post New]
Ah,
I may have the problem with the old trial version downloaded, which is now replaced by new installation from disk. (?)

I'll try to clean out file folders.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team