CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
stereo to mono
Reply to this topic
Bob [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 20, 2010 16:00 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
I have a audio track that only has sound in the right chanel...but i would like to have it in both. How can I change it to mono?
Reply
vn800rider
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Darwen, UK Joined: May 15, 2008 04:32 Messages: 1939 Offline
[Post New]

Maybe these threads might help?

http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/jforum.page?module=search&action=search&clean=1&search_keywords=mono&search_terms=all&search_forum=55&sort_by=time&sort_dir=DESC&search_cat=

Cheers
Adrian Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. (see below)
Confucius
AMD Phenom IIX6 1055T, win10, 5 internal drives, 7 usb drives, struggling power supply.
Reply
SrUser [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 19, 2020 16:39 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
I am new to PowerDirector (I have 19), but I did find an easy way to convert two stereo sound channels with different content on each into a mono track. Longer-term users than me probably already know what I am going to say on this post. The scenario was a video and audio recording of a small tap dance group using a Canon XA40 Camcorder and the XLR input on the camera for sound recording. The sound was provided by an audio mixer with music on one channel and tap sounds from boundary mics on the other. The reason for two channels was so the balance between the music and the tap sounds could be adjusted post recording. When I did the editing on PD I struggled to find how to create a mono track as a combination of the two separate stereo channels. I read all the relevant forum posts on the subject but nothing seemed on target. To make this story short, I finally downloaded AudioDirector Essentials, adjusted the relative volumes of the two channels in the Edit mode then switched to the Mix mode. In that mode on the far left of the Command line is the icon for Settings. Hovering the mouse pointer over the icon shows the message "Configure audio settings in the Mix room." Here a choice can be made for channels to be Stereo or Mono. Choosing Mono combines the stereo channels into a mono track.
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 5451 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I am new to PowerDirector (I have 19), but I did find an easy way to convert two stereo sound channels with different content on each into a mono track. Longer-term users than me probably already know what I am going to say on this post. The scenario was a video and audio recording of a small tap dance group using a Canon XA40 Camcorder and the XLR input on the camera for sound recording. The sound was provided by an audio mixer with music on one channel and tap sounds from boundary mics on the other. The reason for two channels was so the balance between the music and the tap sounds could be adjusted post recording. When I did the editing on PD I struggled to find how to create a mono track as a combination of the two separate stereo channels. I read all the relevant forum posts on the subject but nothing seemed on target. To make this story short, I finally downloaded AudioDirector Essentials, adjusted the relative volumes of the two channels in the Edit mode then switched to the Mix mode. In that mode on the far left of the Command line is the icon for Settings. Hovering the mouse pointer over the icon shows the message "Configure audio settings in the Mix room." Here a choice can be made for channels to be Stereo or Mono. Choosing Mono combines the stereo channels into a mono track.

SrUser - Thank you for posting this. I have AD9 and this indeed works. I did a forum search and found this could not be done as a round trip with PD in the earlier versions of AD but can work as a standalone AD to perform this function.

Found that after performing this function with the skateboard sample clip, reload of the clip to AD does indeed show a single channel. Audio Editor shows two waveforms that are exactly the same with a description in the lower left that the original is mono. Load the same in a third party audio editor displays it to be mono.

Glad that you posted this. Three years ago in the FB PDU forum, a third party audio editor had to be used to create the combined or mixed stereo to mono audio function. Maybe AD then could have been used but found no support from any users or members who know or posted a way in any cyberlink related forum. Thank you again for posting this solution.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team