CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Powerdirector crashes loading Colordirector presets in the fx room
Reply to this topic
fbk [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Oct 25, 2022 19:22 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
I use PD19 and CD8 for editing underwater video which requires color grading. In CD I import a clip and add to its timeline. I then go to global adjustments and do the following:

white balance
tone (exposure, contrast, saturation)
detail (sharpen and NR)
saturation (only sometimes on individual channels)

I then hit "create" and give the preset a name. That .cdadj file gets added to the folder that automatically gets created in user/appdata/local etc. Powerdirector looks here whenever it opens and adds these presets to the fx room.

The number of saved presets I have varies but I only ever do the above adjustments to them. Some random combination of adjustments to one of the presets results in PD crashing when opening the fx room 100% of the time. By trial and error I can work out which preset it is by systematically deleting the .cdadj file. PD then loads the FX room normally. I can create more presets and all is fine till evenutally another preset causes it to happen again.

This is infuriating me. I've emailed Cyberlink to try to get them to reproduce the issue and see why some CD presets cause PD to crash.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7990 Offline
[Post New]
Try the steps listed in this post and see if they help.
Reply
fbk [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Oct 25, 2022 19:22 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for the advice. I did the windows cmd line scans plus clean installed a new driver from Nvidia. These alone didn't solve the issue but I also did a clean re-install of both software and it seems to be behaving.

When CD saves a preset it goes in the "My Created Presets" folder however in PD this folder doesn't show up in the fx menu. The only way to see the presets is to show "all content" from the fx menu and they then appear buried among 200+ others. I would like if they appeared separately.

It's possible to hide the other 200+ one by one but that's a clumsy workaround. It's also possible to move them to the "Downloaded Presets" folder in user/appdata/local manually (which then shows up as it's own menu item in fx room) but that's even clumsier. At least it's not freezing trying to load them anymore (yet).

Thanks again for your input.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team