CyberLink Community Forum
Bottom slider is hidden behind Windows Taskbar  XML
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Author Message
Raphael

Newbie

Joined: 02/08/2009 00:29:58
Messages: 5
Offline

I have a dual core, Windows XP Home, 2 GB memory, 250GB disk, nVidia graphic card, a 22' wide LG monitor with 1680*1050 native resolution.
In the PD7 screen, we have the bottom part with the timeline tracks (video, sound, pip, music etc.). At the bottom of lower part is a horizontal slider to enable us to move to the first or last video clip. When you have many clips in your production, this slider is extremely convenient and important.
But, on my screen, and on other tested screens, the bottom slider is hidden behind the Windows Taskbar, and is visible only if you enable Auto Hide of the Taskbar. Auto hide the Taskbar is something I do not like at all.
It seems that PD7 works only in full screen mode with the mentioned drawback.

I posted a question to Technical support but received no solution. They suggeted lowering my screen resolution (which did not change anything), then suggested I add more PIP tracks (which did not solve the problem).

Did anybody else notice this problem? Is there an acceptable solution?
James W

Senior Contributor

Joined: 18/08/2008 07:36:13
Messages: 911
Location: Lakeland, FL USA
Offline

Are you sure the PD window is maximized completely? I've never had this problem.

Q9300 2.5 GHz
4 GB Ram
Nvidia 9800 GT
OnTheWeb

Contributor

Joined: 02/01/2009 09:58:43
Messages: 508
Location: Michigan USA
Offline

For me, this problem was fixed in the 3017 release, but I'm running win7. It all previous releases, PD7 use to over run the task bar (at the bottom) and the gadgets toolbar.

Win8 64-bit Pro Retail
Intel i7-4770
16GB DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24
MSI Z87-G45 Motherboard
ASUS GTX 660 Direct CU II OC 2GB GPU
1 TB RAID 1 (mirrored) Drive Array
Several scratch drives for video, TMP, pagefile.
McLean1

Contributor

Joined: 30/07/2006 20:00:01
Messages: 336
Offline

I have never had this problem either unless I had more than one PIP track showing, then the bottom tracks (audio and voice) disappear and, thus, the slider too.

There is a little icon under the viewing screen on mine that I use that says fit timeline and it squishes it up so that I can see the whole working space. Don't know if this will help or not until the problem is figured out.
ynotfish

Senior Contributor

Joined: 07/05/2009 23:06:52
Messages: 5685
Location: N.S.W. Australia
Offline

Raphael -

I've found the sizing of the windows to be a bit inflexible in PD but, as OnTheWeb said, it did get better with the latest patch.

When it used to get in my way (& I do auto hide the task bar), I moved the taskbar to the side. Just pick it up and drag it to the edge of the screen.

oh - and use McClean's squishy idea too - very useful when you have a long/complex piece to edit.

Cheers - Tony


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

McLean1

Contributor

Joined: 30/07/2006 20:00:01
Messages: 336
Offline

Hey Tony, I noticed in a post some time ago, that you are a stickler for spelling etc. I've been waiting to see if you were going to notice that my name was McLean not McClean but since you seem to like McClean, I thought I would just mention it.

Thanks.



ynotfish

Senior Contributor

Joined: 07/05/2009 23:06:52
Messages: 5685
Location: N.S.W. Australia
Offline

WHOOPS!

My humble apologies, McLean Thanks for pointing it out - I would have blindly gone on repeating the same error, ad infinitum.

Tony


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

McLean1

Contributor

Joined: 30/07/2006 20:00:01
Messages: 336
Offline

Thank you.
Raphael

Newbie

Joined: 02/08/2009 00:29:58
Messages: 5
Offline

Tony, Auto hide the taskbar does solve the problem, but as I mentioned I don't like it. The fit timeline icon does not do anything to the bottom scroll bar. It stays hidden behind Windows taskbar.
I am using some 30-40 video sequences and very soon you discover that you need the (hidden) slider.
I don't think that moving the taskbar will help. It will obscure some other parts of PD7.
Anyway, thanks to all for your help.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 02/08/2009 23:28:25

McLean1

Contributor

Joined: 30/07/2006 20:00:01
Messages: 336
Offline

Perhaps dragging the task bar to the side as Tony's second suggestion would help?
Raphael

Newbie

Joined: 02/08/2009 00:29:58
Messages: 5
Offline

NcLean, moving the taskbar is similar to autohide. It does change the look of windows, as we know it, and therefore would confuse the other user of this computer, my wife.
I myself am a software developer, and would get along with the change, but my wife.....
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9987
Offline

Let your monitor auto set the screen display, should resize PD to take account of the task bar. Also what size monitor are you using? What's the resolution setting?

Dafydd

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 02/08/2009 23:37:13


For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
McLean1

Contributor

Joined: 30/07/2006 20:00:01
Messages: 336
Offline

Very true, but you could move it to the side while you are video editing, and then drag it back to the bottom when you are not working on the project? Just a thought.

Ahhh our fearless moderator, thank you Dafydd.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 02/08/2009 23:36:46

Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9987
Offline

Valerie, put Tony out of his misery, get him to call you "Valerie" and he'll be smitten with dithering trepidation and scared stiff to spell it incorrectly!

ha ha

Dafydd
[troublemaker]

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
McLean1

Contributor

Joined: 30/07/2006 20:00:01
Messages: 336
Offline

Dafydd
[troublemaker]


uh huh. I just got him to spell McLean right. I think I will wait a bit on that.

:-D
Raphael

Newbie

Joined: 02/08/2009 00:29:58
Messages: 5
Offline

Dafydd, as I mentioned in my first post, my monitor is 22' wide, the native resolution and the one I use is 1680*1050.
PD7 does automatically use fullscreen mode. This is on my home desktop computer.
And, I tried the program on my Lenovo T60 laptop with external 22 monitor, with exactly the same results. I actually tried it on 3 different monitors, the two wide monitors and also a 20 regular monitor. The shape and size of the monitors does not affect the results.
I think that this is a bug in PD7.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 03/08/2009 00:00:06

ynotfish

Senior Contributor

Joined: 07/05/2009 23:06:52
Messages: 5685
Location: N.S.W. Australia
Offline

Oi! Laverie - don't get to cheeky. Eye kin spel as gud as enywon.

Raphael - it really is very easy to put the task bar at the side - and equally easy to put it back at the bottom. I find, with PD, I need more vertical space than horizontal... but - like you - I have a wide screen.

Cheers - Tony

PS I promise I'll spell Valerie krektly next time.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 03/08/2009 00:12:51



Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9987
Offline

OK, I have dual monitors. I've an auto config option on my monitors and it works for me - whichever resolution I chose.

I don't consider this a bug.

Please contact tech support, they may be able to assist you further.

http://www.cyberlink.com/prog/support/cs/index.do

Dafydd


For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
ynotfish

Senior Contributor

Joined: 07/05/2009 23:06:52
Messages: 5685
Location: N.S.W. Australia
Offline

Raphael -

Are you sure you don't have the PD window maximised? If you click on the "Restore Down/Maximise" button (beside the close X), you'll know.

Mine used to misbehave but it's good now.

Just a thought - Tony


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Raphael

Newbie

Joined: 02/08/2009 00:29:58
Messages: 5
Offline

Guys,
I do have the PD7 window maximized. But both ways, maximized and not, it shows the same problem.
About moving the taskbar to one side - it then blocks the side of PD7. (the right slider gets blocked aswell as the preview screen).
About contacting support: I did and they have no real answer, and the last post asked me to send a screen copy of the error! I get no error... just inconvenience.
OK, thanks to all. never mind. I will use autohide, and remember to cancel autohide before my wife uses the computer (while I am at work).
 
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS