CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Non-standard rendering resolutions
Reply to this topic
NSRes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 05, 2015 01:02 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Maybe I missed something, but is there a reason why I cannot render in any "non-standard" resolution like 1680x1050? Can't seem to find any info on the issue.
Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Maybe I missed something, but is there a reason why I cannot render in any "non-standard" resolution like 1680x1050? Can't seem to find any info on the issue.


There's lots of information on the subject of making non-standard customised Profile templates here on the forum.

For example: http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/17939.page

If you use Google search for "profile.ini cyberlink" you'll find more.

Now if you would like to provide the full information of what you're doing and what format etc you'd like to create to, I'm sure many of us could assist you and even create the data you'd need to make a change in the profile.ini file (template).
Dafydd

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Mar 05. 2015 04:07

Reply
NSRes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 05, 2015 01:02 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Checked out your link and fix and I believe it has worked, did a small test and now rendering a lengthy video.

Currently capturing video at 1680x1050 @ 60FPS and was trying to render with H.264 with MP4 wrap. Will post a reply/edit once my video is done rendering to let you know if all is well.

And thanks!
Reply
NSRes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 05, 2015 01:02 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
So I tried several different renders and PD just applies a black border around the entire video rather than rendering it fullscreen at 1680x1050.
Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Ok, the problem you have could be associated with what you may be adding to the video during the edit. If you add content it must be the same frame size as the video (images whatever).

An output file when displayed in the preview player will have "black" (really an empty nothing) surround as the player is fixed at 16:9 or 4:3 while your frame size is neither.

Show us the profile you've made and provide the Media Info of the original.
Guide, Part J http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/40225.page

Dafydd

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Mar 05. 2015 13:01

Reply
NSRes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 05, 2015 01:02 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Quote:
&
<Class>MPEG-4 AVC
<Name>1680x1050 MP4 60FPS Profile
<Description>
Test Profile
<Output FileName>
<DescID>11924
<NameID>11925
<Group>2
<File Format Class>11
<Video Format Class>8
<Audio Format Class>10
<Stream Flag>3
<Field Order>0
<Attribute>40083
<Video BitRate>6000000
<Min BitRate>3000000
<Max BitRate>6500000
<Video Quality>0
<Video Width>1680
<Video Height>1050
<Frame Rate>60.000000
<Profile Level>65380
<Pattern>IBPBPBPBPBPBPBPBPBPBPBPBPBPBP
<Pre Processing>0
<Resize>1
<Flip Video>0
<Speed Quality Indicator>6
<Interlacing>0
<Encoder Mode>0
<App Type>2
<Dynamic GOP>0
<Deblock>1
<EntryMode>1
<Encoder Type>32
<Audio Layer>2
<Audio Mode>2
<Audio BitRate>256000
<Audio Channels>2
<Audio SamplesPerSec>1
<Audio BitsPerSample>1
<Misc>0
<SamplesPerFrame>0
&&


Video Details:
1680x1050
60FPS

 Filename
Poland.txt
[Disk]
 Description
Video Details
 Filesize
2 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
100 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Mar 05. 2015 13:15

Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]

I couldn't get your profile to appear so I created a temp one to see if I could get the display correct. See info below.

General
Complete name : E:\PDR-Temp\1680test.mp4
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : Sony PSP
Codec ID : MSNV
File size : 12.1 MiB
Duration : 1mn 54s
Overall bit rate : 886 Kbps
Encoded date : UTC 2015-03-06 07:54:12
Tagged date : UTC 2015-03-06 07:54:12

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.2
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 2 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=2, N=29
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 1mn 54s
Source duration : 1mn 54s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 877 Kbps
Width : 1 680 pixels
Height : 1 050 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 60.000 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.008
Stream size : 12.0 MiB (99%)
Source stream size : 12.0 MiB (99%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2015-03-06 07:54:12
Tagged date : UTC 2015-03-06 07:54:12
mdhd_Duration : 114400

Audio
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40
Duration : 1mn 54s
Source duration : 1mn 54s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 3 375 bps
Nominal bit rate : 256 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 47.1 KiB (0%)
Source stream size : 47.1 KiB (0%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2015-03-06 07:54:12
Tagged date : UTC 2015-03-06 07:54:12
mdhd_Duration : 114389


The resulting 16:10 frame size video displayed as expected in the Preview player see highlighted edges.

Dafydd

 Filename
SD-2013-02-1383.png
[Disk]
 Description
16:10 video frame size
 Filesize
90 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
382 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Mar 06. 2015 03:05

Reply
NSRes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 05, 2015 01:02 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Even when I create a profile and replace it with the info you've posted above, I still get a black border added to the ALL the sides.

Sure, the output is 1680x1050 but the video itself may as well be running 1440x900 with all the real estate space it's giving up.
Reply
GGRussell [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Jan 08, 2012 11:38 Messages: 709 Offline
[Post New]
What are you using to view the video after it has been rendered? Intel i7 4770k, 16GB, GTX1060 3GB, Two 240GB SSD, 4TB HD, Sony HDR-TD20V 3D camcorder, Sony SLT-A65VK for still images, Windows 10 Pro, 64bit
Gary Russell -- TN USA
Reply
NSRes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 05, 2015 01:02 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
MPC - Media Player Classic
Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Looks to be a player issue.
I thought I had a clear grasp on the display at one point and got it wrong, however after a quick look at what I created with the profile I used VLC and it displayed the video - just the red area as 1528 x954 and that is a 16:10 display. So my grasp was right. It is the player you have issues with, the output video file retains the frame size and the player shrinks it to fit whatever screen you're displaying it on (because the player needs the additional surround space).

Best of luck, it is what you asked for and such - a non-standard frame sized video and it does NOT have black boarders.

Dafydd

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Mar 06. 2015 13:07

Reply
NSRes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 05, 2015 01:02 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Looks to be a player issue.


Tried VLC, WMP, MPC, DIVX, Irfanview.

Quicktime can't open it at all, or stays on a black screen without playing the file.

Rendering the video with other programs, even under the same parameters causes absolutely no issues whatsoever. I'm disappointed that even in 2015, the rendering options are so limited on this program since it definitely appears to be a cheaper alternative.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Mar 06. 2015 13:43

Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
My QuickTime could not open the non-standard framed video either and "hung".
Dafydd
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9777 Offline
[Post New]
Hi NSRes -

Many players I've tested with non-standard resolutions have a setting in preferences/options that forces the player to open to match the resolution/aspect ratio of the video with NO black bars... MPC HC, GOP Player, WMP to name a few.

If the profile has been edited correctly, you should not be getting black bars on all 4 sides.

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
NSRes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 05, 2015 01:02 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi NSRes -

Many players I've tested with non-standard resolutions have a setting in preferences/options that forces the player to open to match the resolution/aspect ratio of the video with NO black bars... MPC HC, GOP Player, WMP to name a few.

If the profile has been edited correctly, you should not be getting black bars on all 4 sides.


Except that in fullscreen, you're either stretching pixels out or you get black bars to fill in the space. I would rather not stretch pixels.

As for the profile, I have been following instruction provided elsewhere and in the thread and the end result is a lower quality video that is plagued by black voids surrounding it.
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9777 Offline
[Post New]
I think something's going wrong with the way you're editing the profile.

So - you want a custom resolution - 1680x1050 (which is 8:5/16:10) played at full screen without black bars? Is the AR of your screen 8:5/16:10? Is the resolution of your screen 1680x1050?

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
NSRes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 05, 2015 01:02 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
I'm currently running 1680 x 1050 native.
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9777 Offline
[Post New]
Hi NSRes -

None of my monitors has 1680x1050 native resolution, so I'm unable to replicate your situation exactly.

This post may be of some help, particularly if your getting "a black border added to the ALL the sides" [end quote] - http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/41501.page#221585

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team