Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Does Power Director 12 support video files with Ogg audio?
Edgar Rocha
Newbie Location: Portugal Joined: Jun 22, 2014 16:06 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
I am sorry for my naive question, but I am a beginner in these matters.
I have Power Director DeLuxe 12 (version 12.0.2930.0, with updating patch installed; SR number VDE140423-01) and, in addition to Windows 8.1 Codecs, I have installed the K-Lite Mega Codec Pack.
In my initial experiments, I used DVDVideoSoft’s FreeYouTubeDownload to download 2 music videos from YouTube that I wanted to try to join and edit. Both files have mp4 extensions, but while one was nicely read by PD12, the other was not imported (there was not even an error message: PD12 just closed down).
I did my homework before resorting to the Forum.
With MediaInfo, I learned that
• Both files are MPEG-4;
• Both files have an AVC video stream;
• The file that is imported by PD12 has an AAC audio stream;
• The file that is not imported by PD12 has an Ogg audio stream.

Reading Forum questions I learned that I could check the Product Specifications in the CyberLink’s Site. They say that PD12 imports:
1) Video files of the MPEG-4 AVC format: it is the case of both files;
2) Audio files of the WAV, MP3, WMA, M4A, OGG formats: strangely enough, this does not cover the file that is read by PD12 (it has AAC audio stream, which is included in the list) and it covers the file that is not read by PD12 (it has Ogg audio stream, included in the list);